My reviews (14)

Classic chicken stock

A simple, yet delicious homemade chicken stock. Chicken is simmered with vegetables and dill. The chicken that is used in this recipe can be chopped or frozen for future use. Use this stock in any recipe that calls for chicken stock.
Reviews (14)


06 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Dee
Good recipe...just a few notes. For "traditional" stock, use poultry seasoning and bay leaves instead of dill. Also, I suggest removing the fat from the chicken first. It's advisable to bring the chicken to a boil first in order to remove the scum (impurities) from the top of the pot. You should remove as much scum as possible then add the vegetables. This makes for a clearer stock. I also add coarsly chopped celery leaves as they add a lot of flavour. You can also add chopped parsley. I cook up a big pot and freeze 2 cup portions for later use in cream soups, chowders and gravies. You'll just need to add more salt after it defrosts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Sally Capotosto
I've never thought about adding dill to my stock - I'll have to try that some time. Just a note: it is not necessary to peel and/or chop your vegetables before adding them. Just wash them good and throw 'em in! (You're going to toss them in the end anyway.) You don't even have to peel your onion (the skin darkens the stock nicely). You can add any/all vegetables that are languishing in the vegetable bin to this stock. I freeze my stock in ice cube trays, then pop them out and put them in freezer bags. You use just a little or a lot that way and there's no waste. Thanks for posting this Leah.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Jonine
This made great chicken stock and was pleased with the over all result but the dill added a "mystery" flavor that I didn't care for. Next time I will leave out the dill.Okay...I have to add on to my review. If you are looking for a soup that will kick a cold than this is the recipe...DILL and all...I boosted mine today with a some fresh garlic since we all have the coughs - this soup does the trick when you feel sick!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Bartsgirl6
This is my mothers recipe for chicken soup! My family loves it,its just the best.i've substituted dried dill weed, its just as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Christina E
Pretty bland. Not a fan of the dill, it gave it a funny flavour. However, I did use dried dill weed. My kids normally love chicken soup. But neither one would eat this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: GOOSEAMY
Leah, you saved the day. I am an newlywed and my husband had his first cold as a married man. Fortuantely I was able to make some "Jewish Penecillin" and now he's cured. He said my (your) chicken soup was better than his mothers and calls it my "Four Star Chicken Soup!"
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: ESTHER7
Add a peeled parsnip split lengthwise to soup pot. This give a gardeny taste. Discard after cooking with all other veggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: MAMMALEH
Leah, this soup brings back many wonderful memories of family and holiday gatherings. It is very similar to my mother's except for the Dill - which adds a nice touch. I will be making this for the Holidays tonight with both noodles and matzah balls added, as is our family tradition. Thank you again for such a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MIRAJOTOM
The real deal. Chicken soup the way my grandma and mom made it, and the way I've just started to make it myself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: YAHMMY
This was fantastic. I have made it many times now.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches