My reviews (82)

Butter Bean Soup

A delicious vegan-friendly soup, that's packed full of protein. Butter beans are simmered with vegetables in a vegetable stock. Enjoy for lunch or dinner. Serve with crusty bread, if desired.
Reviews (82)


27 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: EmmyPoppy
I've used 250 gr dried butter beans, 3 medium carrots, 1 peppers (orange colour), 2 onions, 1\4 diced celeriac instead of celery sticks, no leeks and no oil. Yummy!
 
15 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: P.Smith
I'm a soupaholic, and this is one of my favorites. I followed the recipe other than subbing 1 cup of chopped onion for the leek and shallots. I added a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and a tbsp. of minced garlic. This soup is even better the next day. Five stars and highly recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Pillowtrot
I thought this soup was great! I didn't even saute' the vegetables -- just threw them in the crockpot after the beans had softened -- and it turned out wonderful. This is a tasty, low-calorie vegan soup that I will definitely make again. Note: I didn't have as many carrots as the recipe called for, but I did have a leftover rutabaga that I cut up and threw in. It was a terrific addition.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Great comforting soup on a chilly fall evening. The only change I made was to omit the water and boullion and use chicken broth instead. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: rccourtney
WOW! Never thought I would love lima bean soup. I had some dry lima beans in the pantry and was looking for some way to utilize these. I followed the recipe except added a bay leaf, a dash of thyme and a bit more salt. Would definitely make this again. Healthy, cheap and nutritious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: GORDO24
Great Recipe!!!! I added more leek and shallot for a little more flavor. 1st time I made it I over sauted the vegetables, 2nd time I sauted leek & shallots, threw in Limas and at the last minute threw in vegies. This allowed the Limas and the vegies to finish up better at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Sally H.
Wow! So inexpensive to make and so very tasty. I followed the recipe as written except for using onion instead of leeks and shallots, boxed chicken stock instead of the cubes, and I added two carrots. I served cornbread with it. Even my picky six year old finished his bowl of soup. I will definitely make this one again and again. Thank you for contributing this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: happywifey
Wow, what a delicious soup and turned out just like the picture. The soup was creamy and tasty, the Lima beans soft like butter. I had never made Lima soup before and so glad and a favorite. Of course my husband loved it too. My favorite was always Pea soup but I think I've been converted. The Lima beans are so light and velvety and the carrots add a touch of sweetness. I cooked with ham hocks so extra delicious and never forget the Bay leaves, but next time I think I'll try the veggie only way. I made a mistake and pureed it a little too much, big mistake since those Lima beans are the stars of the show. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MISTICAT57
Excellent! I used chicken broth instead of veggie and added a couple of smoked pork neckbones.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Amy
I added a can of crushed tomatoes, but other than that, it was perfect! I don't know why, but to me it smelled really funny when it was cooking. I refused to eat it until my fiance said it was AMAZING and I gave in. This one's a keeper
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches