My reviews (21)

Chorizo sausagemeat

This Mexican pork sausagemeat is delicous. It's mildy spiced and perfect for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. You can also use this recipe to make meatballs, if you prefer.
Reviews (21)


19 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Lece
Delicious! We added some chipotle and a few more spices. Made it from wild boar meat and it was to die for. Best Chorizo we've ever had. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Jane Smith
Tastes just like the chorizo I buy at the store, but with much better texture and no by-products.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2014
Loved this recipe! Had to special order the Aleppo pepper but it is well worth it. Glad I tripled the recipe and vac packed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Lynnette DuFord
My Son made this and I don't think he changed a thing.It was gone in a day or 2! He is quite a good cook and gives me a run for my money!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 May 2018
Reviewed by: CarlFC
An excellent start to perfect chorizo. It really doesn't need tweaking, but I will anyway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: ALAN
This recipe was excellent, the entire family enjoyed it as a burger and used just mayo, lettuce and tomatoes to accompany the burger. The spices were spot on did't need any fancy dressings the pattie was center stage. The Cloves and Aleppo Pepper stood out as did the Cumin, "Love that Spice". Used half pork and beef , will use pork and buffalo next, and increase spice level a bit. Like others had mentioned really like the idea of not having to remove all that extra fat!This I see will be excellent for breakfast ideas as well! Thanks for the Awesome recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Paul Garcia
Four Stars instead of Five because you failed to mention that the chile pepper originated in Mexico and were spread worldwide by the Spanish and Portuguese. Aleppo peppers are a bred variety of the original transplants. The same applies to avocados, cacao (chocolate) and vanilla (and many other foods). That's why it is okay to substitute a chile from another part of the world. I cringe when people say "Mexican Vanilla". NO. It is vanilla and then you can say Tahitian Vanilla or other country if it is produced in another country. So, they are not Mexican chiles, they are just chiles either. But, the bred varieties like ancho chiles, etc. are okay to list. We say German beer because beer originated in Mesopotamia.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Danny Deraney
I made this tonight and it was spot on. Instead of pork, I used ground chicken and made tacos. I did not use any oil and it still tasted fantastic. Being Lebanese, I always have Aleppo pepper and it was a perfect match.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Drake
This is a good starting place for a chorizo recipe in my opinion. I did not have, nor could get, the Aleppo peppers unfortunately. In place of the Aleppo peppers, I used paprika, and crushed chili de arbol, all other ingredients were added as specified in the recipe. While the chorizo had a good flavor, I personally felt that it tasted too much of vinegar and garlic. For my next attempt I will cut the vinegar and garlic down by 25%. I'll also increase the amount of chili powder, most likely add another 2 tablespoons of California chile powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Bluebill
i only rated this 1 star cuz im reasonably certain i did something wrong. i used store ground pork. i covered it and let it sit in the fridge over night. when i took it out to cook it was seasoned pork in a pool of oil, water and vinegar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches