My reviews (73)

Easy peasy pumpkin pie

This dessert is quick and easy to make. All of the ingredients are beaten together, poured into a shortcrust pastry case and baked. Enjoy with whipped cream or ice cream.
Reviews (73)


18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: myztikal
I'm somewhat mixed on this recipe... If you follow the instruction exactly, you will have a very undercooked pie. I cooked it at 450 for 10 minutes and then turned it down to 325...Well, it took way more than 30 minutes to cook. It took about 1 hour & 15 minutes before it was done. It's not a very firm pie...It's very soft but it cuts up nicely. I tasted it and it's VERY GOOD. If you don't mind waiting for what seems forever...You'll love the outcome. Just be sure to expect a long wait! My grandma said it was the best pumpkin pie that she has ever tasted...And that's saying a lot, she is painfully truthful on everything!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: KrisInPortlandOregon
A good basic pumpkin pie. After the initial 10min. at 450, my pie needed to be baked for 60min. at 325 in order to be done. As other reviewers suggested, I just kept checking with the knife until it finally came out clean. I agree with one of the reviewers that says the pie tastes much better the next day, after chilling in the refrigerator for a night. Next time, I will also use more spices than are called for in the original recipe, though that is just personal taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: OSROCKY
Excellent, deliciously perfect flavor! Only the cooking time is more like 1 1/2 hours total after reducing the oven temp to 325. Important: do NOT eat this pie warm...it tastes kind of "vegetable-y" straight out of the oven. My (honest) guests all thought the same thing. However, it was AWESOME the day after. Chill it overnight, enjoy it cold with some fresh whipped cream, and you are going to be in pumpkin heaven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Stephanie Hirsch
This was delicious, I made it twice. The first time, was the exact recipe, no straying, and it was good. The second time I added vanilla, cloves, and allspice. Also, I think there was a mistake in the directions and going off of what everyone else said, I put it in for 450 for 10 minutes, then at 375 (not 325) for 30 minutes. It turned out perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Peggy
I first used this recipe for thanksgiving. My family loved it. Now I have to make the pumpkin pie for all the family get togethers. Very easy recipe to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Cookeratheart
Hello! Admitedly, I hate pumpkin pie. I eat one piece a year because I feel like I have too - I can't even say I eat a piece, I eat a bite. So, I made this the night before as all suggested. Let it sit in the fridge and this was GOOD. I actually ate 1/2 a piece! Could I have gone without, yes, BUT, for those of us that really hate pumpkin, this is at least palatable. My husband on the other hand LOVED, LOVED it. So, it's a keeper (but if you truly don't like pumpkin, don't expect a miracle. You will STILL not like pumpkin.) It makes a lot, but I did use a regular pie dish, I filled it waaaaayyyy up and still just had a bit left, but it made a nice full pie. I don't know how the other reviewers were able to make two, those would have been pretty skimply. Also, get the vanilla cool whip too on it! Good stuff!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: SUSAN BURNEY
FANTASTIC - made 3 pies using ready made pie shells in the aluminum
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: runsanity
This was the best tasting pumpkin pie I have ever had. I will search for a recipe no longer. It had a nice sweet flavor, very old fashioned tasting!!! However, it did require longer cooking time, 60 minutes at 325. I took your advice to triple it, and ended up with TONS of filling. I was able to make 4 pies and 6 tarts. Maybe using cake pans instead of pie plates would hold more liquid, anyhow it was great. Left overnight the flavors blended and it just tasted amazing!!!!!LOVE the taste and texture, absolutely perfect, thankyou so much for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: CROCKET31
One of the very best pumpkin pies that I have ever ate. My boyfriend absolutely loved this pie, and proved it by nearly eating the whole thing by himself. Be sure to use a deep dish pie shell because it is alot of filling mixture, which I still left some out. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: LaVMonFos
I am a new baker, but, this recipe makes people believe I have been baking it for years!! Some family and friends are not Pumpkin Pie lovers and some don't even like it, but they love this recipe! Thank you so much!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches