My reviews (16)

Raspberry Marinated Venison

This is a delicious winter warmer. Venison is marinated in a raspberry dressing, then cooked with caramelised onions. It's perfect with rice, mashed potatoes or anything you fancy.
Reviews (16)


09 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: medicgem
I made this as a healthy tasty dinner, as I made raspberry vinegar months ago and wanted a recipe to utilise it. OMG, this was fantastic. Full of flavour, the tangy sweet flavours of the vinegar married beautifully with the tender venison. Will definitely be making this again, maybe vary it with chicken or even pork next time!
 
10 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: *Fat~Dog~Lane*
This was VERY good!! I was sceptical and without high hopes but I was extremely impressed with the depth of flavor! My picky eater kiddos went back for 3rds. The sauce and onions tasted amazing with the rice I served it on, it really reminded me of a chinese dish of some sort. I am very picky about any gamey taste and you really, truely could not tell this was venison and I wasn't even using the backstrap. We will make this many more times. I don't like store bought dressings so I used my fav. balsamic vinaigrette: In a jar w/ lid mix 1/2 c. balsamic vinegar (I like cosco brand) 2 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp. dijon mustard. shake vigorously..add 1/2 c. E. V. Olive oil..shake like crazy. then I added 1/2 c. raspberry jelly for this recipe. I did not "boil" my meat like the recipe implies but instead seared it in an extremely hot pan which carmelized it nicely. I also added 1 tbsp. chicken bullion to the onion water. yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Susan
Had a dinner party of 12 people, 8 of which where not venison fans, and well there where no leftovers. Everyone wanted the recipe so they all went home with this website..if I could I would like to give this one a 10.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: carlyzo
I thought this was very good! I added red/yellow peppers, broccoli, water chestnuts, and mushrooms to the mixture right when I added the meat. I cooked it for approx 12-13 minutes. The meat ended up a little tough- maybe overcooked but next time I will marinate it overnight. Served like stir-fry over fried rice- delicious and healthy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Melisa Fimreite
Delicious! I marinaded it overnight because my dinner plans changed at the last minute. I added some broccoli & carrots, and served over rice to make it more like a stir fry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Natural & Good4U
My kids LOVED this recipe, even my 2yo. I cooked it a little longer than the recipe called for to reduce the marinade and juices to a nice thick sauce. I imagine the taste can vary depending on the raspberry vinegarette that you use. I gave it 4 instead of 5 because it wasn't my husband's favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MelissaReNae
This got rave reviews at our table! We paired it with Nana's Turnips and Potatoes and greatly enjoyed our meal. Some venison veterans were very impressed with they tasty game meat and a first time venison eater was VERY impressed and claimed he would now look at elk and think "You are yummy."
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: jgump
SO AMAZING! my boyfriend absolutely loves this as do i! i make it in a pot instead of a skillet so it leaves a bit of juice to put over wild rice. melt it your mouth taste! he asks me to make it at least once a week! i give it a 10!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: chefgirlnewb
my fiance really loved this dish. it was sweet but a bit too bitter for me. it wasn't bad but i don't think that i would ever repeat this recipe. its creative and tasty just not my cup of tea i guess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Joanna
Really enjoy this dish. Great flavor. I usually marinate overnight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches