My reviews (11)

Salty Dog with Gin

A simple, refreshing, fruity and salty alcoholic drink. Dry gin is poured over ice with grapefruit juice and salt, then stirred. Enjoy this wonderful summer cocktail anytime of the year.
Reviews (11)


04 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ALETA14
This is kind of an aquired taste, but I love it. I salt the rim of the glass instead of adding it to the drink.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: PatsyK
OK, I know what I made was not "salty"....but it was good. Using the recipe here, I skipped the salt, and added in 3/4 oz triple sec. Smooths out the grapefruit bitterness, and is very refreshing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: KYLYNN
Simple and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Tracy Ann
I never needed any salt with mine. This has been my favorite drink since before I found out it was called a "Salty Dog" - I just asked for a gin & grapefruit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: WingedBook
A drink that can make gin taste good? YES!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: MULETEER
Honey, let me be your salty dog! One of my all time favorite drinks. Rarely add the salt but it's good either way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 May 2010
Reviewed by: Lina Hershberger
This Is Not Good. I prefer a Gin And Tonic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: terie
Try Ruby Red grapefruit juice!! My favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: JARRIE
Not bad. I'd use margarita salt next time, rather than salting the drink. Ahoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: petitefleur
Love salty dogs! But I prefer to salt the rim of the glass, margarita-style. A salty dog without the salt? I don't think so. And use a good gin, like Tanqueray.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches