My reviews (11)

Marbled Spinach and Pumpkin Egg Bake

This dish takes a little time to make, but the results are worth it. It's made by swirling together a pumpkin egg mixture with a spinach egg mixture. It is then baked to perfection. Serve as lunch or dinner.
Reviews (11)


04 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: MLOURIE
This pie is a wonderful treat- looks amazing and tastes delish. I used a chunk of pumpkin instead of butternut squash. I also put it in 2 pie shells when I made it for Thanksgiving. (It was too much filling for just one). Everyone loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: nisaba
we love this recipe. I skip the brown sugar and the sweet potato, although now that sweet potatos are in season I will try it, but I will still leave out the sugar. I also add walnuts and up the salt to 1tsp because I use sea salt. I don't ususaly swirl the contents, but keep it layered. I buy large butternut squash and freeze the mixture to make it all winter long. I sometimes substitute sour cream or Greek yogurt for the cream, depending on what ingredients I already have.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: CSTAPLEY
I thought this was pretty tasty, although I would perhaps have preferred it with a little less brown sugar. I would call the texture more of a souffle than a quiche, though. (Not a complaint - just a comment.) I did think that perhaps it was a little more time-consuming to make than it was worth. I'm not sure I'd make it again, although I would certainly eat it again if someone else made it. I did like the green and orange marbling, it was very colorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: FLOWERHEAD
I usually like veggie dishes, and like to try new and different recipes, but this just wasn't yummy. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Michelle
This is good but I agree with the other rater that it is more like a souffle. It almost seems more appropriate as a dessert instead of a main dish quiche.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Nomi
This quiche was extraordinary! I used a pre-made frozen organic spelt pie crust, I used two packets of stevia instead of the brown sugar because we are trying to cut down on sugar, I used one medium yam which I microwaved and then mashed in with a can of organic pumpkin and I used garam masala seasoning which basically has everything you need except the curry. I used raw whole milk but I might try coconut milk next time. It is the best quiche I have ever made! I also used about half the spinach. Really divine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: mama of four
The reaction was split in our house. I liked it but most thought is should have a crust... I will do it again but with a crust.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: quarter
Good, this is like nothing I have ever made before. I added ground up garbanzos instead of the bread crumbs to the spinach layer. I think it would be even better if you spread it on a cookie sheet so that it could get crispy. This is so colorful, it is amazing to think that it is completely natural.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Jennie
Not sure how to rate this dish since I made some major changes to the recipe. I wanted something more savory than sweet and went with a previous reviewer's suggestion of leaving out the sugar. In addition, I added more cumin, salt and some cayenne pepper to bring out some savory flavors. I also put it in a pie crust. I liked the resulting pie but concure with others that this isn't a quiche at all. Also, next time I'll mix the two layers together since I wasn't wild about how the textures contrasted when they were divided. Good base though from which to start. Perfect for autumn! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: JBBALUKONIS
It was tasty but not a quiche and not a meal. More like a thanksgiving side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches