My reviews (30)

Venison steak and gravy

Venison steaks are pounded thin, dredged in a seasoned flour, pan-fried and then simmered with a mushroom gravy. Enjoy with mashed potatoes and a side of veggies.
Reviews (30)


15 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MKARAVANIC
This was simply one of the best venison recipes I've ever tried! My husband is a hunter and we have struggled for years trying to find a venison recipe that I liked. An added plus was that the leftovers were wonderful as well! Definately a "must try" for the hesitant hunter's wife!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: SOUTHERN_GAL12000
Was good and easy. Made the texture and taste of our old, frozen, elk tenderloin, not so bad. I cut the tenderloin up into thin slices and put them in 2 - 1 gallon plastic bags and pounded them with a hammer. I had to fry the steaks in batches since I had more pieces. (BTW...1 cup of flour was more than enough to coat all of the pieces and I ended up throwing a lot away). Didn't use ground bay leaves because we didn't have any and did not substitute it with anything else. Used canola oil instead of olive because I was out of olive oil. Used about 1 1/2 tbsp. of fresh, chopped garlic because we love it. Used 6 brown (also known as cremini or baby portabellas) mushrooms because we don't eat white domestic and I wish we had used more because personally I would have liked mushrooms in every bite. They tasted really good in this recipe. Thanks for the recipe. It's a nice change from the usual fried steak with cream gravy. I'll use it for beef and I'm sure it will taste even better! Also, the gravy was delicious with egg noodles instead of potatoes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: JOHN555
Almost perfect but I swapped white wine for beef broth and I thought the flavor was exceptional! White wine seems to go best with venison despite the rules. Using beef broth with venison runs contrary to my tastes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: WENDYWARDEN
This was terrific! I used a dry gravy mix instead of canned, swapped red wine for the milk, and used a whole package of fresh mushrooms. It was delicious with horseradish mashed potatoes and steamed green beans. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: bikrgirlpink
This recipe was great. Instead of canned gravy, I made my own or used a dry mix. My family loves this and it has become a regular dish on our table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 May 2004
Reviewed by: ASHLYNNS MOMMY
Very good and well received by my family, even the kids! I made mine with cube steaks (although I would be interested to try it with venison someday if the "boys" went out hunting, or I was feeling extravagant enough to buy some.) I was a little leary of using canned gravy, but didn't have the time to add the extra step of making my own. However, the richness of the onion and mushroom gave it a very authentic flavor, you could still taste the "canniness" but not very much. I also would recommend to anyone trying this with cube steaks, simmer it for more like 2 hours as mine was still pretty tough after 1 hour. I'm planning on trying it in my slow cooker the next time I make it, and using canned consumme to make the gravy. All in all, an excellent dinner, I wouldn't serve it to company because it's not the prettiest presentation in the world, but around the table over a pile of mashed potatoes it really satisfied.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Angela
I used sirlion steaks instead of venison steaks and I didn't have any beef gravy, so I used white cooking wine. I also left out the milk. The recipe turned out great. I also cut the flour mixture in half and I still had a lot of mixture left over. Overall, my husband and I thought this was a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: ERINSMAMMA
This was excellent. We also eat venison a couple times a week so are always on the lookout for good recipes and this is a definate keeper. Didnt use ground bay leaves-really who has that. But it was great without it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: B. Hyatt
The only exception I had was no ground bay leaves on hand, so I used 1 Tbsp of Italian Seasonings and 1 Tbsp of Oregano. It was very tender and made a great gravy - just needed a sprinkling of salt. We will enjoy this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Gina Perkovich Baker
Always looking for good venison recipes -- this one is a KEEPER! I unfortunately can't have mushrooms, so I subbed by sauteing yellow bell pepper with the onion. Also, didn't have beef gravy so used 2 packs of powdered turkey gravy mix mixed with equal parts water/milk -- turned out GREAT! Will try with beef gravy next time; sure the results will be just as delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches