My reviews (53)

Garlic Ginger Tofu

This easy, braised tofu dish is great served with steamed rice and vegetables for an easy vegan weeknight meal.
Reviews (53)


22 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: CHLAMYGIRL
simple and quick. i love this. i added carrot and corriander for colour and served with brown rice pasta. will become a staple weekday meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: GREENCHI2020
Great asian inspired taste of ginger and garlic, the lime added a lot, completing the dish. I liked it a lot but my husband rated it slightly less enthusiastically.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Whispering Raven
This was pretty good. My son is a football player, and aside from us trying to eat more healthy meals, we're trying to incorporate more good proteins in our diets. I made this last night and served it straight, along with stuffed squash blossoms and a chilled ginger fruit soup. It went together rather nicely. I think this a good base tofu recipe that can be used in/with many other dishes. Anything my son eats and says is good, is worth making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: KETHRAE
Rerally great! Left out the tamari, didn't have any. Also forgot to squirt with lime juice, and instead added soy sauce. Sauteed exra ginger and garlic for more zing. Only used 1 lb tofu, which made more than enough for a family of 4. Served over cooked rice and stir fry veggies such as green pepper, carrots, mushrooms, onions, and pineapple. I used this as the main course, with Easy Japanese Steakhouse Soup by Cooking kid for an "appetizer". Yum, yum, yum, yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: jb103
Plain. Really, really plain. In order to not have to throw it out I made a lot of changes to the recipe. I added soy sauce, more ginger, more garlic, some sambal olek, some frozen veggies (peas & carrots is what I had on hand), some chopped up water chestnuts and then some dashes of sesame oil at the end of cooking. It wasn't amazing with my changes but at least we could eat it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: CAVAMom
I give it 3 stars due to it being bland. I followed the directions as is and then added extra garlic, ginger, and soy sauce at the end. Once I tippled the garlic, ginger, and tamari, added a pinch of red pepper flakes, I LOVED IT! I also used extra firm Tofu. Served with steamed rice and vegetables.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: pj071480
The combination of garlic and ginger was amazing with tofu. There a just a few things I had to change so that the dish actually had flavor. I have found that when eating food with rice it needs a little more salt so you can actually still taste the protein. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of soy sauce to add to the flavor. I personally really like a little bit of sesame oil for all of the tofu dishes I make and I also added sesame seeds based on the recommendation from another reviewer. I will definitely be making this dish again...or at least my variation of it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 May 2011
Reviewed by: SpicySally
My husband like this more than I. I would give it 3. Not bad, but I agree with others that it's a bit bland. I only used one 14oz. container of tofu and used the full amount of everything else. Next time I'm going to double the ginger, garlic and tamari. I also added broccoli to the pan to steam for the last 10 minutes. It's definitely worth another try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Natasha Buel
If you are a tofu lover this easy recipe will be a staple in your house. As I did not have fresh ginger, I used powdered, and I did not have tamari so I use soy sauce. What is especially great about this recipe is you can really flavor it to taste. I added scallions, smoked paprika, and some chili sauce as I like it hot. This would be great served over noodles or rice. You could marinate the tofu in the tamari for an hour instead of cooking it for 30 min for softer tofu.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Thyme Lord
Kind of bland. Was expecting more flavor. Would make again, but with serious flavor enhancement!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches