My reviews (97)

Wild Rice and Chicken Cream Soup

This soup is creamy and deliciously hearty. Chicken is simmered with wild rice, spring onions and roasted red peppers in a creamy soup base. Enjoy with fresh crusty bread, if desired.
Reviews (97)


02 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: MSTAY
Very good. To reduce the saturated fat in the recipe we used skim milk in place of the heavy cream and extra light olive oil instead of butter. And it was still excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
I took some of the submitter's advice - used a little more wild rice, sauted reg. onions instead of green onions AND some minced celery, fresh sliced mushrooms, & shredded carrots. Finally, at the end, I added a jar of diced pimentos. Ended up w/ a nice big pot of great tasting soup! I had a craving for this sort of thing and this recipe really hit the spot! Thanks Glenda for the recipe and your helpful hints!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
Looking over the recipe I knew it wasn’t going to be substantive enough; that I would be adding celery and mushrooms. I sautéed those ingredients together with sweet white onion rather than the green onion, and added fresh minced garlic for extra flavor. I love adding pimiento to my Chicken a la King and knew I would love it here too. Poultry seasoning isn’t something I have at our home in Naples so I had to be creative with what I had - a little Penzey’s Fox Point Seasoning (for those unfamiliar with our Penzey’s Spices in Wisconsin, Fox Point is a suburb north of Milwaukee), some Montreal Chicken Seasoning and fresh chopped parsley, rosemary and thyme. What I knew I wouldn’t like was the flour, knowing it simply would not be necessary and in fact, might even result in a consistency I wouldn’t care for. I omitted it entirely. Hubs is not a big fan of wild rice and I must admit I knew I would much prefer it mixed with regular, long grain rice. I used a 50/50 mix of both, simmering the wild rice in all broth, no water, for 45 minutes, then adding the white rice and simmering for another 20 minutes. Even without the flour I needed to add more chicken broth for my liking. This was creamy and satisfying, and gratefully not too rich – NOT adding the flour was a good call. Still, with all that’s going on with this soup, particularly with my additions, it still fell a little flat. No doubt adding some bacon and a glug of white wine would fix that right up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: emilytaterbug
This recipe is absolutely delicious and surprisingly easy to make. It is very rich, which my husband really likes. I make this all the time and it's gobbled up in a few days! Awesome recipe!! If you're looking for a way to scale back, use regular milk instead of cream...it still tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: SUBLIMEMIND82
The taste was pretty good, but the look of this soup once it cooled was *very* thick - kind of like mashed potatoes. If I make it again, I'm going to add much less flour/butter mixture so it will hopefully come out more like a soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Cardamum
Very good! It definitely needs more rice. I used 3/4 c. and would use even more in the future. I cooked 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the slow cooker all day with the chicken broth. When I was ready to make the soup, I took the chicken out and shredded it and then strained the chicken broth to use to make the soup. Tasty! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: KATHY RAKOSKY
A bit rich... I would tone down the white sauce mixture, use 4tb oleo & flour & 2 cup milk instead, also didn't use pimentoes and added celery and carrots. No need to saute gr onions. This was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Bonnie
I used chopped sweet onion instead of green onions, and added 3/4 cup sliced fresh mushrooms instead of the pimintos. Very good soup, great on a cold wintry day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Sara Wahnsiedler Perry
This was pretty good. A little bland, but still a nice winter dish. I added rice as advized by others and halved the flour and butter. But, I thought it was still thick and added 2 cups more of broth. I think next time I won't add the extra rice. I should add that this had much more flavor the next day and I will be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: COOK_4_3
A wonderful recipe - even with the changes I made. I made the mistake of making this recipe using a long grain/wild rice mixture. Like another said, it turned out really doughy. So I threw that batch away and made it again using 1 c. of egg noodles. (A bonus of this recipe - it's really quick when you use noodles!) I added carrots and shredded the chicken rather than cubed it. It turned out to be a creamy chicken noodle soup! I didn't have any poultry seasoning on hand so I just used a medley of spices (thyme, basil, rosemary, etc.) It turned out great - even my picky eaters liked it! Next time I'll try the poultry seasoning - I'm sure it will be even better. Also, I ran out of cream after the first doughy batch and so only used milk for the second try. It was still delicious, but I think the cream (even half cream/half milk) will make it even more smooth and creamy. Anyway, thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches