About this recipe: This lentil soup recipe is based on a traditional Hungarian recipe which uses paprika for flavour. We eat it on New Years day to symbolise good financial fortune for the coming year.
Parmesan cheese is not truly vegetarian, as it contains animal rennet. To make this dish 100% vegetarian, omit the cheese or find a suitable vegetarian substitute made without animal rennet. In supermarkets look for the 'parmesan style hard cheeses' which are suitable for vegetarians.
- 14 Jan 2012
forgqt the wine bu threw in a couple of rashers of chopped up bacon. Superb! - 20 Nov 2012
Made it vegetarian. Make it vegetarian by using vegetable stock instead of chicken stock and don't use the parmezan, or use a veggie alternative. - 09 May 2010