My reviews (32)

Jeera rice

Jeera simply refers to cumin. Cumin seeds are fun to cook with, they come alive when you drop them in hot oil. They impart a very special flavour to this rice. Serve with your favourite curry.
Reviews (32)


24 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: JohnJabBarry
Really simple to make
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
USARICA said:
Used different ingredients. Great recipe! I have an Indian friend who gave me a couple of suggestions. I added 4 tbsp of frozen peas, then add a few strands of saffron to the top. Cover and steamed for about 5 minutes. Was great! Thanks for the recipe!
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Jim said:
Something else. One of our standby recipes now! I actually use a tablespoon of the cumin seed because we like the flavour so much. The key is to add a good half teaspoon of salt at least, and then the flavour is to die for. Adding garlic and onion to the oil would be a plus! I usually use chicken or vegetable stock instead of water in this recipe. All of these things punch up the flavour and then it isn't bland at all.
 
24 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Scagglewag
:
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Shannon said:
Used different ingredients. This was too bland for me. I did use cumin powder instead of seeds, that may have made a difference. I ended up adding salt and garlic which helped.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SLAMPTON
Wonderful, easy recipe. I served this with the barbecued Chicken Tikka Masala recipe on this site and it was a perfect combo.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: lee ann
this recipe is GREAT with red kidney beans...what an amazing combination.
 
08 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: KRANEY
Great recipe! I have an Indian friend who gave me a couple of suggestions. I added 1/4 cup of frozen peas, then add a few strands of saffron to the top. Cover and steamed for about 5 minutes. Was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Naomi Witzke
One of our standby recipes now! I actually use a tablespoon of the cumin seed because we like the flavor so much. The key is to add a good half teaspoon of salt at least, and then the flavor is to die for. Adding garlic and onion to the oil would be a plus! I usually use chicken or vegetable broth instead of water in this recipe. All of these things punch up the flavor and then it isn't bland at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: LILYP
Nice suttle twist to plain rice. I used powdered cumin and cooked in a rice cooker. Will probably make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches