My reviews (120)

Creamy white sauce

This bechamel sauce is quick and easy to make. Instructions are included in how to make it in the microwave or on the hob. Use as a pasta sauce or the base for a cheese or parsley sauce.
Reviews (120)


12 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: bibi
I use this often in lasagna. Instead of the cream and broth, I use 2 cups milk and a bouillon cube. Sometimes I'll also add in some grated emmental or parmesan cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Rusty
I thought this was DELICIOUS pasta sauce, although I made lots of substitutions based on my cupboard and because I'm a vegetarian. I used skim milk and added an extra T. of flour. I used dehydrated minced onion, and vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. For spices I used a few sprinkles of Italian seasonings and a little chili powder. I would use this again for pasta sauce (I might use one T. flour so it's not so thick), or make it the same way and use it as a gravy. Thanks for the great inspiration.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
This is okay, not spectacular,but okay. Even after using rosemary instead of thyme, it was still mediocore in taste. In needs something... but I can't say what. After pouring over my chicken with pasta, I had to add extra S&P and parmesean cheese...in excess of what should have been neccessary just to "spice up" the dish. It wasn't bad...just not that good. thanks anyway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Eleverto
For Dreginek to help "spice it up" a bit more you could simmer the cream with a 1/4 of a white onion, bay leaf, and one whole clove. Remove these items and then thicken w/ roux and season to taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: RDZELLMER
This recipe was EXCELLENT and very, very easy. I followed it to a T, but after it thickened and I removed it from the stove I added some shredded white cheddar - YUM. Any time I need a white sauce for anything, this is the recipe I'll be using.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Super easy and very good sauce too! My first try ever at bechamel and it came out perfectly. I cut this in half. I used half heavy whipping cream and half 2% milk and made my own half and half. I used onion powder about 1/2 tsp instead of grated fresh. No lumps, super creamy, very rich. I used this in a chicken and pasta dish and it turned out beautiful and was so delicious. This took about 25 min total time for me, so it can't be done in a hurry like package mix and gravies can, but so worth the little extra time it takes. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I will use this again and again now that I know how easy and foolproof this is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 May 2007
Reviewed by: Caljane
I use this recipe as a basic sauce for all occasions: add blue cheese or roasted pepper (these are only examples) for a great pasta sauce, or mix left over vegetables or potatoes with it and bake in the oven for 30 minutes - makes a very tasty casserole. I like this easy to make recipe to pep every-day meals up. I have to admit that it is a bit too bland to use it as a simple sauce over meat or potatoes - but it is very versatile if someone uses it with some ideas! Thanks for the recipe - I use it a lot! btw - I do not have chicken broth, chicken bouillon cubes do just fine, though. Just cut down on the extra salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: CYBERGIFTS
Excellent! The chicken broth, thyme, and cayenne pepper improved the flavor of this sauce over other Bechamel sauce recipes I tried. For a more delicate, yet creamier flavor, you might want to substitute the 2 TBsp flour and 1 cup half-and-half for 1 TBsp corn starch and 1 cup table cream. Mix the corn starch with the cold cream and room-temperature chicken broth prior to adding it to the melted butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: MANDYCLAY
This was an excellent recipe. Easy and very flavorful. I used dried onion flakes instead of the grated onion and I only had skim milk, so I just added an extra tablespoon of flour. Will definitely use again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: HOLDOSH
It was pretty good. I added left over bacon to mine to make a carbonara type sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches