My reviews (679)

Simple cheese sauce

A deliciously rich and creamy cheese sauce, which is a cinch to make. Butter is simmered with cream, Parmesan, Pecorino Romano, egg yolk and seasonings. Serve with fresh pasta of your choice.
Reviews (679)


24 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: tryingcake
I like the flavor. I followed the recipe to a T. Ive never understood how you can rate a recipe you changed before trying as written. Anyway, this one was good. No better or worse than any other I've had. The all taste about the same to me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: KENDRAJOY
I liked the flavor, but would like to find a smoother sauce. Mine was a little watery. Also, be sure to break that yolk and stir it quickly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Julie
Used all parmesan, added lots of garlic and pepper, and doubled the recipe but only used one egg yolk. Turned out perfect! Will try using cheddar & jack cheeses instead of parmesan for a sinful mac & cheese. Some tips if your sauce is runny or grainy: 1. After adding the cream and spices to the melted butter, slowly heat the mixture until it starts to bubble. 2. Whisk it until it thickens slightly. You will start to see lines on the bottom of the pan where the whisk has been. 3. If you are using the egg yolk, stream it in while whisking vigorously now. Turn off the heat. 4. Gradually add the cheese while whisking. If your sauce is lumpy from partially melted cheese, turn the burner back on VERY LOW. Using a low temperature to melt cheese results in a gooey texture instead of a grainy one. 5. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Pooter61
I've been making this for years. It's so good and creamy and rich! It's the perfect recipe. On a side note, tonight I made a boo boo. I didn't beat the egg yolks. Just dumped them in without thinking. So I'm stirring and stirring and thinking to myself. Why isn't that cheese melting. So finally I scoop the lump out and realize it's a completely cooked egg yolk. LOL
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Mikey
This is the first sauce I have ever made, and I am a new cook -- as in, I had to look up the word "colander." It turned out better than what one gets in most restaurants. I will never buy sauce in a jar again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: meg
my bf and i made this the other night. we added spinach, some sundried-tomatoe cream cheese, and lots of garlic. we agreed that it was probably one of the best sauces we'd ever had. Amazing. Although - we had a ton leftover and it wasn't as good when reheated. It thickened up a lot too. We spread some of the leftovers onto pita bread (thats how much it thickened in the fridge lol)and baked it - made hot sandwiches - it was still amazing.. very good flavor. This is going into the recipe box!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2003
Reviewed by: Robin Seidel
I've been making alfredo sauce for years, and this is top-notch, just the right amount of cream and a good zip from the cheese. I didn't have Romano so used just Parmesan; would probably have even more of an edge with the added Romano. Great consistency just as it is. Quick to make but with huge flavor. As the others say, definitely put the egg yolk in a small cup, add a few large spoons of sauce to it and blend well prior to mixing with the sauce. The egg WILL be cooked after combining with the sauce, it just won't consist of big yellow flecks! Favorite use for this is with gnocchi, cubed leftover ham and frozen peas & carrots that have been added to the gnocchi pot during the last minute of cooking. You can eat it just then, or place it in a casserole and bake it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 May 2001
Reviewed by: SALLIANNE
My husband and I have been married for three years and he has never raved about my meals as much as this one. He LOVES meat, but this has become a favorite. I just steamed some broccoli, califlower, carrots, and squash and placed them on the bed of pasta and poured the sauce over it. This recipe has become a regular for this family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 May 2007
Reviewed by: Mandy
really good with garlic added to butter, saute with butter 1 minute before adding cream, used all parmesan cheese, added cooked shrimp, yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Leanne
This sauce is amazing!! It was fun and very easy to make. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches