My reviews (93)

Dairy-Free Apple Cake

A super-moist cake that is the perfect ending to any meal. It's not only delicious, but it's also incredibly easy to make. Everyone will love it!
Reviews (93)


16 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Jennyaston
Fabulous cake, moist, light, delicious hot or cold, I will certainly be making this again
 
22 May 2016
Reviewed by: SharonFabri
My son has just been diagnosed with lactose intolerance. He asked me to cook him his favourite apple cake which I could no longer do for him since it contained butter. I tried this recipe and the result was excellent. My son was so happy as well since it meant that he could still eat a good piece of cake without getting sick. Will try to other variations of this cake!
 
05 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Charlotte
EXCELLENT! Moist, delicious and quick to make! I baked my cake in a 9 x 13 pan and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: LISNLAUREN
This is a wonderful cake! I followed the suggestions made by another reviewer. I substituted an extra 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup oil. I also used a bundt pan. I had to cook for 50 minutes, and it probably could have baked a little longer, but it was fine. It didn't come out of the pan clean, that is my only complaint, otherwise it was DELICIOUS! I didn't use anything to top it, but it would be great with a cream cheese frosting. I will do that next time. My husband took some back to work with him to share with his work buddies. He absolutely raved about it! It was so easy, I will make this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: MEGWEST
This cake was delicious, moist and very easy, I've made it twice and everyone has loved it. I made this cake in a bundt pan. I did make a couple of substitutions... I replaced 1/2 cup of oil with an additional 1/2 cup of applesauce (I always do that to reduce fat), I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves for extra spice. I only needed to cook it for 40 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Annette
I made this exactly to the instructions, used a bundt pan, baked for 50 minutes, and it turned out great. I like that it is not overly sweet. I eat too many sweets as it is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Nadia
Fabulous!!! Thanks for the suggestions of substituting 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 oil. I ran out of plain applesauce and used apple/strawberry sauce instead; added just a bit of nutmeg - my boys (19 & 13) absolutely love it. Can't keep them away from it!!! (lol) Thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: AMBALY
This receipe was absolutely GREAT!! My family loved it and I have noted options that can be added for special occassions or differenttastes. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT! Also, VERY easy to make, this is a plus in a busy family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: seasonsmom
I am always on the lookout for inexpensive ways to treat my kids without the junk. Fall is a perfect time to crank up the heat and use up those apples. I had some old (we only eat crunchy) apples laying around and I peeled them, cored them and threw them in the crock pot with some spices and OJ for a couple of hours, mashed with potato masher and had applesauce galore. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I always try to cut down on the sugar and the oil. I used half the sugar (raw) and half the oil (coconut), as well as replaced one cup of white flour with whole wheat I found in the freezer. It turned out sweet enough. I made a double batch and 5 kids devoured it. The texture was airy and cake like, moist and absolutely a keeper on anyone's healthy dessert or breakfast menu. Easy to assemble the day before (at least dry ingr) and very forgiving. Enjoy it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Cathy K.
Cake for BREAKFAST! My 4 year old LOVES THAT! (Me too!) I added the extra 1/2 cup applesauce and only used 3/4 cup oil-I found it too moist using 1 cup. I also added 1/4 t. each ground nutmeg and ginger. I have also used 3 t. Chinese 5-spice (w/OUT pepper! read the labels) and it was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches