My reviews (527)

Creamy Vanilla Frosting

This frosting is super-easy to make. It's creamy, light and oh-so-delicious! Spread over cupcakes, muffins, cakes or cookies.
Reviews (527)


09 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: KIMBACUB
Absolutley fantastic and that is coming from a fan of traditional buttercream icing. I thought the taste of this was delicious and even better was the texture. It's like a thicker, stiffer whpped cream. Not as pudding tasting as bavarian cream but not as thin as a whipped cream icing. Perfect for a strawberry shortcake. I used it on the Coconut Cream Cake I from this website and the taste was to die for. My husband brought that cake with this frosting into work and every co-worker asked for the recipe. And the fact that it takes about 2 minutes to make makes it a 10 star recipe in my book. Another reviewer commented that this is "artificial tasting." Let's be honest, if you like cool whip you will LOVE this recipe. If you are expected this to taste like real heavy whipped cream, you are being unrealistic. I love cool whip; it's light, it's not as fattening and this frosting really holds it's shape well. Not runny at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Quick? Yes. Easy? Yes. Sets up well and can be used to frost layer cakes? Yes. Artificial tasting? Yes. With the first bite of cake I frosted with this, hubby said, "Cool Whip." I was embarrassed, and only glad I didn't serve this to anyone where I wanted to make an impression. Just substituting 8 oz. of fresh, whipped cream for the Cool Whip would be a vast improvement. There are few instances where there are any acceptable substitutes for fresh ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Jasmyne246
This was exactly what I was looking for. No one in my family likes the store bought icings which are way too sweet, and I never had any luck with just using whipped cream as it melts away way too fast. This recipe was just right in between. Not too sweet and held up well on the cake even icing it the day before and leaving it in the fridge over night. I used it for a home made birthday cake for my son's 7th birthday party and all the kids loved it. It tasted delicious. I will definitely use this for all cakes in the future. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: darthotto
This is one of the best frostings. I got two puddings and 2 cool whips in hopes of making two cakes. The first batch I made was way too runny for piping so I decided to make the second batch with only 1/2 cup milk. This was too thick for my liking. So I combined the two batches together and it was perfect. I found out very quickly that I could not frost the two cakes I panned on making. I made a two layer cake and also used the frosting for the filling. I had to go very thin on my cake so I had enough to pipe with. This worked for this cake because I used crumbled cookies for the sides and cherry pie filling for the top. So other than desired consistancy and the amount wanted, this frosting tasted fantastic. When I read other reviews I had to laugh. If you dont want your frosting to tastes like cool whip or pudding, then do not pick a recipe that only has cool whip and pudding as its ingredients. Just a suggestion
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Eharoshe
I used this frosting in a double layer chocolate cake. I used it in the middle and on the outside. It was so good and very light. I used half of the amount of milk becuase I wanted it to stick to the outside layering.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: EILISH40
This is a very good and easy recipe - thank you. You can also use different flavors or instant pudding - my latest being white chocolate. Can also be put in small baked tart shells. Use your imagination.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: love2cook
I made this with home-made whipped cream...made from mixing (on high) 2 cups of heavy whipping cream, 1 cup powder sugar and 1 tsp or so of good vanilla...and it was sensational. The only reason I rated this a 4 instead of a 5 is because I made it with real whipped cream instead of nasty store-bought cool whip. I added red food coloring and refrigerated before frosting my strawberry cake. It was soooo smooth and easy to handel. Made a beautiful icing with the perfect whipped consistency. My guests who ate the cake could not get over this frosting and said it was the quality of a fine bakery. Thank you so much for this recipe, I will be using this from now on and am looking forward to playing with different puddings and flavors!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: laura
I made angel food cupcakes. Then I took this frosting idea and added 2 tsp of strawberry extract and filled the cup cakes then sliced a strawberry in half and put it over the filling hole looks cute and tastes delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Alison
This is very good. I used FF/SF pudding, skim milk, and fat free cool whip. I frosted a two layer cake with it which didn't work too well because the icing doesn't harden but it would be great on a sheet cake. It also was very yummy on its own
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: JenniLynne
I used this recipe for a cookies and cream cake. I used plain cool whip, and french vanilla pudding, then folded crushed cookies into the frosting. I put this onto a devil's food cake, made from a mix. It is very simple and tastes great! Next time, I'm going to try chocolate flavored cool whip and chocolate pudding. I'm sure it will be amazing as well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches