My reviews (97)

Creamy crab fettucine

An elegant pasta that's perfect for any day of the week. Fettuccine is topped with crab in a creamy cheese sauce. Enjoy with garlic bread.
Reviews (97)


20 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: GeorgiaAngel
I have been looking for and testing different Alfredo Sauce recipes at home and at every restuarant out there. Thanks for this one. It is by far the best I've ever eaten and so easy to make. I did use the conversion to 2% milk because it's all I had in the house (7/8 cup milk plus 1 tablespoon butter). It still came out rich and thick. I left out the cayenne because i don't like the heat and added instead somewhere between 1/4-1/2 tsp of nutmeg, which all true alfredo sauce recipes call fo,r and that put it OVER THE TOP!! I confess I also added a little extra grated and schredded cheese because let's face it, you can never have too much cheese! The more I added, the better it tasted. I have also tried this sauce with chicken and broccoli instead of crab which was also very good. I will use this as a base for any recipe calling for an alfredo sauce in the future. My search is over!! THANKS AGAIN!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: DYMPLES805
This is awesome! If you've ever had Red Lobster's Crab Alfredo, you won't feel the need to go spend that money anymore, because you can do it yourself at home for cheaper and it tastes the same if not better. This is the first Alfredo sauce that I have ever made, it was quick, simple, easy and called for stuff that I already had, so I didn't even have to leave my house. I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I changed one thing in this recipe after reading the reviews; instead of using 2 cups of half & half, I used 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of half& half!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: LNJ821
This was really good! I did not have half and half so I used the whole milk/butter substitution suggestion listed on the tips and advice substitutions page on this site. I also doubled the recipe and used a little extra parm. cheese. Everyone loved it. I will definately make this again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: srrh
The sauce for this was too thick; I had to add whole milk to thin it out, and it was still very thick and tacky. The cayenne pepper was overwhelming and I could barely taste the crab (I even used more crab than the recipe called for, but it didn't help). It was OK, but really, no better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: MommyL2006
This was an excellent Alfredo recipe. I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut the half and half with milk. Next time I make this I will also either cut back on or omit the cayenne pepper. The taste was excellent, but the spice was a little much after a while. I highly recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Cheri
This was crabtastic!! My DH was craving some crab and this fit the bill, along with some crab legs on the side. I did use 1 cup milk with 1 cup half & half. I didn't think there would be enough sauce, but there was plenty more than pasta and it fed the 4 of us with extra left over,which was still good the next day. I did use real dungeonous crab and parmigiana reggiano. It's easy to eat a lot and get totally stuffed, so pace yourself! I served with cheddar bay biscuits, but use club soda in place of milk for fluffier biscuits.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: gatorgurl
This was ok.....I added more half and half because the sauce was very thick. I think next time I'll add more garlic and less cayanne pepper. Even though my son ate it he said it was hot so next time I'll reduce it to 1/4 of a teaspoon but def. more garlic. It was good but needs tweaking
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: roxmj
Sorry but this recipe was way too thick and gooey. I will keep looking for an alfredo recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 May 2008
Reviewed by: Heather
Very good! I made this the other day for my roommate and myself. I used 1 cup half-and-half and one cup 2% milk instead of the two cups half-and-half... very decadent! Next time I will likely half the amount of cayenne pepper used, though. It was just a little too spicy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: naydeenie
We didn't have half and half, so we mixed one and half cups of milk and 1/2 cup of butter. Also cut the cayenne as other reviewers suggested. We used fresh crab leg meat. This is definitely NOT a delicate meal, it's extremely hearty and fattening, but OH SO worth it!!!! It is perfectly thick, I like a nice thick sauce. We separated the crab so it was just in the dish we ate that night. The left overs in the fridge the next day were solid, but melted right back down in the microwave and was still just as good as the night before, even without the crab...I couldn't get enough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches