My reviews (95)

Low Fat Banana Muffins

A great muffin that can be enjoyed by those who are watching their weight. They are moist, incredibly tasty and contain no added fat or sugar.
Reviews (95)


Comment:
17 Apr 2013
nbrown said:
Really easy to put together however the End result was bread like texture, bit dry so think I will make them again but try adding some low fat creme fresh or adding the yolk as well! Not sure will get back on the outcome! On weight watchers
 
30 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: Jade88
AMAZING!!! I added one sprinkle of salt
 
28 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: jasatmariam786
Very yummy and only 90 calories.
 
06 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: LJPAGE
Finally a lowfat, sugarfree muffin that tastes like a muffin should! I made these twice this week. Using the 1/2cup wholewheat flour makes them nicer. Also I cut the sugar sub to 1/2cup using part slenda and part brown sugar twin. The last batch I added 2teaspoons of real sugar too. I find this makes the texture and taste better without affecting a diabetic at all. Instead of 2 egg whites, I used 1 whole egg. This still makes each muffin less than 1 gram of fat. Thanks for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
Hello? This recipe has the word "NUT" in the title, but there are no nuts whatsoever mentioned in the recipe. That's easily remedied, though - I threw in 1/3 cup chopped, toasted pecans and stuck one on the top of each muffin. They rose up beautifully, and tasted very good, but stuck to the paper liners terribly. I think the Splenda is the cause of this - when using another muffin recipe from the Splenda web site, the directions included spraying the paper liners with cooking oil spray. The papers come off the muffins perfectly. I will try this trick the next time I use this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: AJ
I added 1/8 cup ground flax seed for fiber and moisture. I could taste the Splenda, but it was not as strong the second day. I would fix them again, but maybe try adding pumpkin instead of applesauce (0 points), some vanilla flavoring, even some fat free sugar free banana instant pudding. Glad I tried the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: mimi100
I didn't have Splenda so I used regular brown sugar and I also used the whole egg. I made these as mini-muffins for my son and he loved them. I will make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Aug 2005
These were EXCELLENT!! I've never been so pleased with a NO FAT, NO SUGAR recipe!!! I didn't tell the family they were "healthy", and they loved them!!! I added more banana then the recipe called for, only because I had 3 over-ripe bananas... oooohhh... so good!!! It would have probably been better with some wheat flour like the recipe suggests, but we didn't have any... but they were STILL REALLY great!!! Also, used egg beaters (1/2 cup) instead of two egg whites, just for convienance... egg beaters is pretty much just that - egg whites... plus some other stuff!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: chellebelle
When I run this recipe through the WW website's recipe-builder program it comes out 2 points per muffin. I tried calculating it for egg whites and Egg Beaters with added bran or no bran it always came up 2 points. And that's with no nuts. Far better than a sugar/butter/egg recipe but I don't know how others came out with 1 point per muffin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: AVE33
These are great for those of us who count "points". I did have a slight problem with the muffin liners in that they stuck to the muffins. However, I found that after they had set a day, they peeled off fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches