My reviews (40)

Simple vanilla sponge cake

An incredibly quick and easy cake to make when you're short of time. Enjoy with a light dusting of icing sugar or top with your favourite icing. You can also use this recipe to make cupcakes.
Reviews (40)


06 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
It's just a matter of personal expectations, I guess, that account for the variation in reviews of this recipe. This is a basic, standard recipe for Dinette Cake that is quite common and has been around forever, so again, liking it or not is a matter of personal preference because there isn't anything "wrong" with the recipe. I didn't like it and won't tinker with it to make it better or different. It IS fluffy and moist, but it has a coarse, open crumb I found unappealing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 May 2001
Reviewed by: CHEFMYRNA
Bravo ! Excellent coffee cake. Very easy to make. I added a tablespoon of shortening and an extra teaspoon of vanilla & butter extract for added moistness and flavor. Overall an A+ ! Works great in a mini toaster oven
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: chocaholic16
I have this thing about cooking with shortening, I hate it. So, instead I substituted Land-O-Lakes Light Butter, and the cakes (we made mini, individual heart cakes instead of one big one) came out absolutely delicious. They were fluffy and moist and had a lot of flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: ARIANA
This was the perfect cake for a two person home. Very moist with the kind of thick, spongy texture I love. Went great with chocolate peanut butter frosting : )
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: EMERALDCITYJEWEL
Good texture if you do the following: cream the sugar and shortening together then add your egg and mix in your dry ingredients. The directions aren't too clear but that worked well for me. I also used butter flavored shortening too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SLANT82
The cake turned out really fluffy, just like a cake made from cake mix. My family really likes this one. I would definately make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: MERMAIDHAWAII
I tried this recipe because it was the only one which I had all the ingredients in the house. This recipe made 18 yummy little cupcakes. They were a tad dry but frosting fixed that. This is a simple, economical, cheap, and tasty recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2002
Reviewed by: Queen Fletch
My family really likes this cake. We make the cake and add fresh strawberries and some vanilla ice cream. It is our favorite strawberry shortcake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: mighty moose
I've made this twice now and it's a good recipe. Fast, easy and tasty. I used raw sugar because that's what I had and along with vanilla, it made the cake taste and look delicious. A nice golden colour. I also used butter instead of shortening. Served it with warm, 'from scratch' lemon pie filling spooned over top and fresh strawberries and blueberries. It was a hit. Edit: Have made it 3 times now. Love it with the raw sugar and butter. This time I made the Seven Minute Pudding from this site, and served the pudding with sliced bananas and this cake, topped with chocolate sauce, parfait-style. Good stuff!! I love this recipe. So easy and versatile. This is a coarse-crumbed cake, like others have mentioned who didn't like it. So if you're looking for a finely textured cake, this wouldn't be it. I think of it as sort of the peasant version of cake. But mine have all been moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Mama_B
I used all purpose flour, dark brown sugar, and butter in place of the cake flour, white sugar and shortening. Then I added a generous grinding of nutmeg, a heaped quarter teaspoon of allspice, the same of ground ginger (I didn't measure them, so I'm guessing) and about a quarter teaspoon of orange oil (you could use about a tablespoon of orange zest). It made a very, very nice little cake for a weeknight dessert. I gave it 4 stars because without the changes, it seems quite bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches