My reviews (36)

Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Topping

This delicious chocolate cake tastes just like the classic American whoopie pie. It's moist, chocolately and topped with a rich vanilla topping.
Reviews (36)


04 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: HappyHousewife
This is SO YUMMY and does taste like a gob (whoopie pie). I did not use the frosting. I used a much easier, fool proof recipe. Beat 3 cups powdered sugar with 1/3 cup softened butter. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla and gradually beat in 1-2 tablespoons of milk until frosting is spreadable. MMMMM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: mostollers
My husband can't stop raving about this cake. However, I didn't use the icing it suggested. I used a cream cheese icing instead... just because I had it leftover from another cake. We're originally from PA and this reminded us of home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Amanda123
I have to say, I have never had a whoopie pie or a "gob," but this cake tastes exactly like those little hostess chocolate cupcakes with the cream filling I remember eating as a kid. My husband, who is allergic to eggs and can't have most cakes, absolutely loved it. For me it was very easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. It tasted great with caramel frosting. Next time I might try to inject some cream into it and frost it with chocolate frosting... maybe I'll even try cupcakes. There was no question in my husband's mind that this recipe gets 5 stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Brenda Kennedy
I tried this recipe because I wanted to make a gob cake, but didn't have a chocolate cake mix on hand and had no time to run to the store. I was a little skeptical as to how it would compare to my usual recipe that contains milk, eggs, and instant pudding, but it turned out great and everyone loved it! I baked it in two round pans lined with parchment for easier removal of the cake, and used my own recipe for the filling, which is very light and fluffy. Imitation Whipped Cream Filling: Combine 5 T. flour and 1 c. milk, and cook until thick. When cool, add 1 c. sugar, 1/2 c. softened butter and 1/2 c. shortening. Beat at high speed for several minutes until smooth and fluffy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: OneBiteRule
I'm not sure that I'm entitled to rate this recipe because of the extensive changes that I made. I was originally going for a whoopie pie recipe which led me to gob cakes (a name apparently limited to PA borders since I'm in MD and have never heard it called by that name). This recipe sounded the best of the gob cake/whoopie pie selection. One thing I didn't take into account was that this was a "cake" so after mixing it, it was way too runny to be used for individual whoopie pies. I added an additional 1 - 1 1/2 cups of flour (I didn't measure, I just kept adding until the consistency was right). For the icing, I used a previous reviewers recipe of 3c powdered sugar, 1/3c butter, 1t vanilla, and 1-2T milk just because the butter and shortening in icing sounded too greasy for me. Overall, the whoopie/gob pies were very good and snack time after school for my 3 children was silent (they were too busy devouring the pies to talk).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: AM11078
I love Gobs from PA and this recipe tasted just like them. I have made the cake twice and it is very moist. The second time I made it, I added a little peanut butter to the icing and it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: spin12
I used two round pans for this recipe, and put the icing between the layers. The cocoa could definitely be tasted in the recipe (a bit bitter), but the cake is extremely moist. I used my own gob icing recipe and this really did taste like a large gob. Good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Jacquita
The cake portion of this was incredibly moist and wonderful and tasted just like the cake portion of a gob. The icing, however, was a bit of a mess. While beating it for the 10 minutes, it became a kind of runny mess - maybe it was the shortening? I finally added some confectioners sugar, which made it a little better. It still tasted good, but looked strange. I'll make again with a different icing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Nicole
This cake is delicious. I have made it 4 times now and everytime it turns out wonderfully. Everytime I take a bite I am reminded of whoopies pies from Pennsylvania. It is even better with peanut butter frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: carollou3
I was nervous-this was such an odd blend of ingredients and no eggs, I was encouraged to try it from other reviews. It worked beautifully. I followed others advice and did not use the icing recipe, I chose the mocha icing recipe from this site. WOW, really a knock out dessert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches