My reviews (784)

Passata pizza sauce

This pizza sauce is made with passata and requires no cooking before topping your pizza. Adjust the seasonings to taste - you can use dried Italian herbs, fresh basil, red chilli flakes or extra garlic.
Reviews (784)


01 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: louise_3000
great idea. I fried onions, mushrooms and chopped peppers and added them to the passata. then added garlic, herbs, small chopped cooked vegggies...anything! did all that in the morning and left it all day - fab flavour by tea time
 
30 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: seanfield
Simple and effective. Beautiful aroma and the paprika gives a subtle spike in the flavour
 
07 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: KatyLouise81
As easy as opening a jar & so much more tastier & healthy!! Will definitely make this again
 
05 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Joshijam
Made as directed but also added 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning, garlic granules, black pepper and onion granules. Awesome flavour, thanks for sharing
 
14 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: RogerSayer
Unfortunately, I hate garlic and onions, so I made the sauce without the garlic; but I love chilli, so I added some of my hot. home grown chillis, it was excellent on my pizzas !!
 
09 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: vader1
I added some smoked paprika and a little sprinkle of chilli powder. Really good.
 
Comment:
30 Aug 2009
seanfield said:
Used different ingredients. Realised I didn't have a garlic at the last minute, so used 1 teaspoon of Garlic Pepper which worked just as well
 
12 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: DEED330
OMG! With a little TLC, this sauce tastes just like the sauce in NYC Pizzerias! I added 1/2Tbs basil, 1/2tsp sugar + 1/2 tsp onion powder. Just popped in the blender and Viola! Perfection! Thank You for this recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Donnie
This pizza sauce, with just a few minor tweaks, was AMAZING on my pizza! I used a couple of the suggestions made my another reviewer of this recipe (CINDY18LOU). I only used 2 teaspoons of oregano, and I added 2 teaspoons of basil and 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. And with those tweaks, I made a Chicago-style stuffed pizza that was absolutely amazing! You can go to my page to read my reviews of those other two recipes and what I did to make them. I used the "Jay's Signature Pizza Crust" and "Chicago-style stuffed pizza" recipes (with minor tweaks to the latter) to make an amazing pizza! Highly recommended! Also, this sauce makes an amazing spaghetti sauce!! And with the 2nd batch, for spaghetti only, I added about 1/2 teaspoon of fennel, which added another very yummy taste to the mix! Next time, I'm going to mix in some ground beef for what I'm sure will be a stellar meat sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: SimpleFoods
About reducing the acid in this recipe, a digestive concern from an earlier reviewer: Sugar was recommended by another reviewer, but it is actually acidic. It cuts the acidic taste, but not the effect in your belly. (The cheese on the pizza, and the white flour in the crust also push the digestive acid levels up.) Instead (or in addition), add baking soda. Really. Remember those baking soda and vinegar "volcanoes" in Middle School? That should remind you of what you need in order to neutralize the acid. With all the strong flavors in this sauce, my guess is 1 tsp will go without notice. Add more, if you want. You could probably sneak some into a homemade crust, too. If heartburn is a frequent problem for you, do a search on "alkaline diet" for more tips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches