My reviews (61)

Wholesome Bran Bread

A super-tasty wholemeal bread, which is easy to make. Simply pop everything into a bread maker and let it do its magic. It makes wonderful sandwiches and toast.
Reviews (61)


Comment:
12 Feb 2012
ir13evk said:
Turn out very good and tasty bread!
 
04 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: JENNHALES
Okay I followed the advice of other reviews and added two tablespoons more honey, 3 Tbs vital wheat gluten, and substituted 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour for part of the bread flour. And the result was a hearty healthy wonderful bread. Next time I make it I will take it out before it bakes and bake it in my oven because I like the regular loaf pans better then my bread maker pan. Thanks for the recipe. This will deffinatly be something I save and use. I just made it again and didn't put any molassas in it just used honey instead and it was amazing, Loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: LOUISE CANADA
I tried this because I'm on Weight Watcher's. It's a heavy, hearty bread that came out perfectly in my bread machine. It might be too "hearty" for kids though. My husband and I make it a couple of time a week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2001
Reviewed by: SAMBUG
This bread is REALLY yummy. Lots of wholesome goodness. I did change a couple of things. I used 1/2 Cup whole wheat pastry flour for some of the bread flour. I added 3 TBS of gluten to help with the rise and also had my bread machine knead the bread twice. These changes resulted in a high, light loaf of wheat bread. A real keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: BROOKER57
This was great! Very wholesome and filling. I substituted wheat bran for the all-bran cereal, with good results. The bread over-rose on my machine's wheat cycle, so next time I will use the regular white cycle. Highly recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: KESELOFF
I love this bread. I have a thick slice of it for breakfast every day. I have made it a bunch. All my houseguests have enjoyed it as well. I make a couple of changes - use half wheat and half white flour (1 3/4 c each), 1 3/4 c water, 3 tbs oil and 3 tsp yeast. I also add 3 tbs gluten as I don't have bread flour, just all purpose.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: KATHYLF
I didn't notice this was for a 2 lb loaf and made it in a 1 and one-half loaf bread machine. But, still both my husband and I really loved it. It turned out great; moist and heavy, a man's (and this woman's) kind of hearty bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
Wow..talk about a healty treat. Your sure to get a good bill of health after you've had a few of these... Adding flax and wheat really does do a body good and this is such a good recipe to play around with. Good job Jennifer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
This recipe makes a moist, dense, high rise bread. The flavor is delicious and it has good crumb. Wonderful toasting bread and makes good sandwiches. I let the bread machine do the work, then shaped the loaf and baked in the oven at 375 degrees for 33 minutes in a 9X5 loaf pan. Thanks Jennifer. Great Bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: GAGNONL
This is a very good, filling bread. I made it with honey only (no molasses) and put 1,5 tsp of yeast, as I was afraid the dough would rise beyond my bread machine capacity. It didn't with that amount of yeast. The next time, I'll use all the yeast called for in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches