My reviews (30)

Clam dip in a bread bowl

This is a great appetiser to serve for any type of dinner party. A bread bowl is filled with a clam and cream cheese filling, before being baked.
Reviews (30)


04 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: PEGKH
We make this dip all the time, but we substitute 2 cans of crab for the clams and add jalapenos to spice it up. It's a great dip!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: MORGMOM
I was craving good clam dip and this was great. I didn't do it in a bread bowl, just mixed up the dip ingredients and cooked it in the oven in casserole dish at 300 for about 25 minutes until it was bubbly - it was a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: optimista
I loved this recipe - it was SO easy to put together, and it was a huge hit! We brought it to a party, and it was the only thing that was completely devoured. I only had time to cook it for about 1-1/2 hrs (although I did use the convection setting on my oven) and it still turned out great. I bought a couple of extra baguettes and sliced them up to serve with this. Wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: KCWRIGHT
I changed the clams to crabs and it turned out great! I've made it a few times and it always goes over well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: angensidney
I thought this was good not great, although my family loved it and ate it all up! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Colleen Cecil
This is a great recipe! For those who like a bit more zesty flavor, i made some minor changes. I added 4 cloves of pressed garlic in place of the onion. 4 teaspoons instead of 2 for the Worcestershire, and lemon juice. 2 teaspoons of hot sauce. I use tapatio. 4 tablespoons of beer instead of two. I also added a 1/2 cup of finely grated sharp cheese. I used parmasean, but you could use any sharp cheese with a little bite to it. Other than those few minor tweaks, this is the best hot clam dip i have found.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: missivy
This was good, but a little bland. A bit more hot sauce, onion, and beer will fix it. We served it with crackers b/c toasted bread really didn't hold up, it was a little to thick. Coming to the next potluck with a little fixin'!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: KIMMERSTWO
Awesome!! My whole family loved this. Even those who are not big clam fans ate it up. I baked it for 2 hours (1 hour less than suggested in recipe) and it was fantastic. Great appitizer for parties!! Suggestion: buy some extra bread to use for dipping or include crackers on the serving plate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: trina wamboldt
This is a great recipe which got rave reviews. I added a can of small shrimp in addition to the clams. We'll definitely have this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: TSNANNA
I made this for a New Year's Eve party at my boss's house. When he asked me what I was bringing, he was like not thrilled with the idea. Boy did he change his mind after I brought it. There was no dip left, but plenty of everything else that everybody else had brought. Personally, I will be making this for all parties from now on. This is an exceptional dip and the presentation is great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches