My reviews (45)

Spiced Pepper Biscuits

A traditional Icelandic Christmas biscuit, which tastes absolutely fantastic. The dough needs to chill overnight, so you need to plan ahead of time.
Reviews (45)


13 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: drangey
This is my 18 year old son's absolute favourite cookie recipe. I note that the recipe has changed from 1 cup corn syrup to 3/4 cu syrup since I first printed it. This works better. The dough is sticky. Instead of rolling it, I drop it from a small scoop. It spreads into a nice circle. Much easier as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: evoleschre
I loved these cookies and so did the people who tried them. The spices are great, though I don't understand why they're called pepper cookies as there is barely any pepper nor can I taste the pepper. I will definitely make these again. Modifications: As someone else suggested, I added about 1/4 cup additional flour. Also, since I hate rolling out dough, I rolled the cookies into balls and then flattened them with the bottom of a glass (another helpful suggestion I found here!) However, instead of using flour to make the glass not stick, I used a bit of water - so that the cookies wouldn't be tougher with added flour. It suggested to bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes I think, but I found that about 14 minutes was perfect for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: EBLIZZARD
These are great cookies! The dough was sticky but after having it in the fridge overnight and rolling with flour it wasn't bad. Tastes sort of like a mild gingerbread with a peppery kick. I will definitely be making these at Christmas (served with a little mulled wine)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: KLPH90
My mother in-law came over while I was baking these cookies. She took one look at the recipe and informed me her son would not like these. Well, I'm happy to report he DID And he is very selective about which sweets he will eat. These are very unusual. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: IOCASTE
I had mixed results with this recipe. The dough was extremely sticky, and virtually impossible to roll and shape. It was so soft, in fact, that the cookies spread and lost their shape in the oven, so that small circles became large flat disks. I ended up cooking much of the dough by rolling it into balls and then flattening them with a glass. On the plus side, the flavor was quite unusual and enjoyable; my friends seemed to really like them, at least in part because of the "exotic" flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: hollyopnshk
These are my favorite cookies in the whole world, but I agree with what everyone else has said about them, the dough is way too sticky, even after it has been refrigerator. And then I found that after I pulled them out of the refrigerator and baked them (using the drop cookie method), they would come out like flat discs and they were very crispy, but tasted great. I have made these cookies many times, in high altitudes, in low altitudes, but I finally found out the trick: do not refrigerate them. After I mixed all the ingredients, I decided I wasn't going to wait for the refrigeration. They came out fluffy and cake-like, and they still taste amazing. True, you do have to use the drop cookie method, but they are fantastic. Oh, and you can make them as large or as small as you want and they still take about 10 minutes to bake. They do tend to stick to the baking sheet, and I'm not sure how to remedy this, but I'm sure that there are more talented bakers out there who know the trick! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: PHILWA
Because the dough is so sticky, I added 1/2 cup flour. I substituted dark Karo syrup for light and add 1/2 tsp. allspice. I used 1 1/2 inch cutter and spaced cookies 1 1/2 inches apart. I also shook the warm cookies in a bag with powdered sugar. Every person who tried these cookies raved about them. Of the 7 kinds of cookies I made this Christmas, this cookie was by far everyone's favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: A.J.P.
These cookies were wonderful, not too strong but still a bit spicy and nice and lite. One change I did end up making was to use honey rather than syrup (just didn't have any) and instead of putting them in the fridge overnight, I spooned small pile of dough onto the cookie sheet and then tapped them down with a glass dipped in sugar. worked great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: KORILLIAN
The cookie dough did not hold together, even though I added extra flour (about 1/2 cup during mixing). It took me over three hours to bake these cookies because I had to keep putting the dough back in the refrigerator. I kept adding flour, flour, more flour and had to work with only enough dough for six cookies at a time. Even so, half the time, I couldn't get the cookies up off the surface to put onto the cookie sheet because they were too sticky. These cookies had a good taste, though. But obviously there is something wrong in the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Pinky839
These cookies are the best Christmas cookie I have ever made. Very simple to make, and make the whole house smell like Christmas. While I was making these, my neighbors came over to taste test and said they could smell them when they opened their front door. The recipe makes a lot of cookies so you will have plenty to share.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches