My reviews (10)

Simple White Icing

A delicious icing, which is quick and easy to make. It's flavoured with both vanilla and almond extracts and is perfect for decorating cakes and biscuits.
Reviews (10)


28 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: AuntBeaCPA
This recipe saved the day! My son is allergic to milk so I need a recipe that doesn't have butter in it. I substituted soy milk for the milk in the recipe and it turned out great. It was easy to tint and piped beautifully. Not too sweet... just perfect. I can't say enough...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Dee052
Smells like almond, tastes like whipped lard. Upon adding more powdered sugar (almost twice the amount), the lard flavor prevailed as it oiled the roof of my mouth. I absolutely hated it. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: AMMSEJS
Tastes great!! I like it because it's not too heavy, it's "whipped", which is just the way I like it. I also like the flavor that the almond extract gives it. I did'nt have butter shortening, so I used 2 sticks of margarine, and I added a little extra confectioners sugar to get it the right consistancy. I also added a little red food coloring to make pink frosting for a valentines day cake. If it isn't beat long enough, it will come out too thin. I almost made that mistake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 May 2009
Reviewed by: AKABEANS
I thought this frosting was terrible. The ratio of shortening to sugar makes it taste like you are eating a lot of plain shortening. Maybe I am unique, but I prefer my frosting to not taste like shortening, and if enough powdered sugar is added, it will be a lot better. Oh and I would also add a pinch of salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: DOMSMUM
This was a good frosting. The vanilla and almond flavoring was perfect for a yellow cake with raspberry filling, which I used it for. The only problem was that it wasn't enough for a 9"layer cake. I don't mind making a larger batch but it's helpful to know before hand. It was too late to start another recipe because I had company coming. It would be enough for a sheet cake but make 1 1/2 recipes to cover adequately an 8 or 9 " layer cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Bethany
This is the best frosting for cakes. I was looking for a frosting that wasn't so sweet and this one is unbelievable! Everyone who tries this frosting agrees that it is the best! It tastes great on mock-angel food cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: ASARTAIN3
thank you so much,for this great rec1pe. i really have enjoyed it. God bless every one
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Suzanne
Good, quick and easy recipe but I had to do some tweaking because it was a little too bland and had too much of that crisco texture to it. I used about 3 tsp of vanilla, maybe more because I stopped measuring after 2 tsp. I also added more confectioners sugar which helped the texture. I think next time I'll use butter or may try margarine. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: BARBARASCHMIDT
I used this frosting on sugar cookies and it turned out wonderfully. Everyone complemented on how good the cookies were. I will continue to use this frosting recipe whenever else I need it. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Kristen Lilly Freitas
I made this to frost on Hershey's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake. I didn't have enough baking cocoa to make their frosting. I only had 1/2 cup shortening for this recipe, so I used butter for the other 1/2 cup. Other than that, no changes. The shortening taste in this frosting was very evident to the point of being sickening. I think I will try this again with only butter. Meanwhile, I will scrape it off the cake and serve the cake with ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches