My reviews (34)

Sabzi polo (Persian herbed rice with broad beans)

This is a Persian dish which I often make for my husband. Rice is slowly simmered with fresh dill, parsley and coriander, along with broad beans and spices. In Iran it is traditionally served with fish.
Reviews (34)


31 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Errica
This did not work for me at all! The rice was hard and dry at the end of the cooking time. I tried adding more water and simmering it longer but it just ended up gummy on the outside and crunchy on the inside. During the first boil is the lid supposed to be on? Maybe that is where the trouble started.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: VIVNIDHI
Quite delicious! The dill overpowered other herbs but was very interesting overall. Made a lot too (even though I made 1/4th of the recipe given)!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Spiderwoman77
Disaster. Recipe should say that fava beans were FRESH. ugh I used dry ones. The rice tasted ok but I'm really annoyed about the bean situation. Plus the rice on the bottom of the pan is a real pain to get out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: brandirashidian
I make this and several other Iranian dishes and was taught by my mother in law, who makes the best rice (I go to Iran regularly so I have had a lot of persian rice). There are a few tricks I saw in various reviews so let me put it together. The key to perfect rice and perfect tadik is to a few things. First make sure you boil your rice with a lot of salt. we use approx 1/3 cup. You will rinse most of it off when you drain the rice prior to putting it back in the pot so you can get it to your preference. Secondly, when you are boiling your rice, wait til it rises to the top and look for stripes in the rice. If you put it on your spoon you can actually see the stripes in the rice which lets you know it is ready. Once you have added your sabzi,before you place your rice back into the pot for steaming, poor about 1/4 cup oil in the bottom of the pot, poor your rice in the pot and put it a mound making a hole in the middle so that it looks like a volcano. Add about another 1/4-1/3 cup of oil and poor it all over the rice. Take 2 paper towls and place it over the top of the pot and then put your lid on. steam on high for about 10 min, then med for 10 min, then low for 10 min. This will produce the perfect tadik and rice as a whole Good Luck! Brandi Rashidian
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Nadine
Rice was good but was slightly dry
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 May 2012
Reviewed by: jackie and friend
first time cooking with favas and we loved this! i used only 2 cups long grain brown rice in 4 cups of water at the start. then a little less herbs for the lesser volume. otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out great. we liked the proportions of favas to rice we got. also took another reviewer's advice and saved some herbs to add fresh at the end. will definitely make again. thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Caroleshamsai
This was a great recipe and a big hit for Norooz diner with fish. Will do it again. I added Maggi to the water while boiling and used butter instead of oil. Thanks Gondwana for the recipe. Awsome
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TRIMMER
Yummy! Reminds me of the rice that my Iranian neighbors used to make for me - love the crispy part! Thanks so much, I have been looking for a recipe like this for quite some time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
10 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: kimpossible23
This recipe was really good, but I got a little confused with what water I was doing what with, so my rice came out a little mushy. But for flavor, I used all fresh herbs and it was fantastic! Always attempting to add some more protein into my vegan diet, I added sliced almonds in the last 10 minutes as well. On accident, today on day 2 I was eating a Cutie orange and decided to throw it in (cold) to the rice I heated up. It was an amazing accident! It was great without the orange, but it added a little something extra. Also, I had no idea of how much tumeric to put in but my rice came out really yellow and had great flavor. I put maybe 2 tbsp in it. Thanks for the great and new recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Chairman James
Couldn't find fava beans, but substituted baby limas and it came out just as I remembered it. However, this recipe makes a lot. I mean A LOT! So you might want to scale it back a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches