My reviews (79)

My mum's chocolate cake

This is the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten and the only chocolate cake I will ever make. Decorate it with your favourite icing.
Reviews (79)


10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Nice recipe - deep, dark chocolate and good and moist. I added 1/2 tsp. salt to make the flavors "come alive." That addition, along with the coffee, ensured a very chocolatey chocolate cake. Baked this as cupcakes, about 20 minutes. I would not hesitate making this again - very pleased.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: jess-and-dad
The BEST chocolate cake, period. We used Caroline's Chocolate Fudge frosting as a topping and it turned out awesome. Next, we'll make this into cupcakes... so rich and delicious. Can't taste the coffee... but whatever it does, it worked! Highly recmmended! UPDATE: We made these into cupcakes... actually used half-recipe, and it made enough for 1 full pan of cupcakes. Cooked for about 15 minutes or so... they came out P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Didn't top them with anything, as they were very rich and delicious as they were. It's so cool to say you made something so good from 'scratch.' Of course the guys at the poker table look at you kinda funny when you tell them that... but that's their issue, not mine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: OROMEO
I make this Chocolate Cake often, and get tons of complements and request for the recipe. I worked in a Bakery for almost 9yrs. and I have to say, I know cakes and this one is awesome!!! Tip- Best baked in a Glass Cake Pan. Make it soon, you'll be glad you did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Kellygrrrl
This recipe is completely unsuitable for cupcakes, which is rather misleading considering the photo shows cupcakes. They didn't raise correctly (and I didn't open then oven) and the coffee flavor seems to somehow create an intensified burnt flavor at the bottom of each cupcake. Oh and the liners could not be pulled off without destroying the whole cupcake. So while this make work in layer cake form, its unsuitable for cupcakes and seems to be a generally unstable recipe. Very disappointing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: betsy
HOLY CRAP! This recipe Rocks!!!! super easy to make and yum yum yum. i frosted mine w/ homemade cream cheese frosting. and now im off for my 3rd piece....
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: supertan
This cake turned out perfectly...although it took longer to bake than 30-35 min. I was worried the outer edges would get too baked before the middle did...so I lowered the temp to 325f and cooked for 20 min or so longer and perfect! I topped with a cream cheese frosting(not from this site) and it was amazing. The cake is not very sweet so a rich frosting makes it wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 May 2006
Reviewed by: CHRISTYDAWNE
Wonderful recipe. Where we live, cake mixes are very expensive and so this is a great, quick way to have cake. It's not too sweet, so it's very versatile. Put frosting on it to make it more sweet or just sprinkle powdered sugar on it to make it more "coffee cake" like. I've made this many times and usually am asked who brought me a cake mix from the States! Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2006
Very good cake!, easy and tasty, or in my son's way: Yummy yummy! I used frosted it with the Chocolate Cheese frosting and it turned out great, we made it at night, and had it for breakfast, really really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Jessica Kimble
I made this chocolate cake in Colorado, and attempted to make it into cupcakes. It was edible, but didn't raise right, fell in the middle of each cupcake as well as in the middle of the square cake (made with the leftover batter). It did have an unusual flavor from the coffee, but I would definately add more flour if you are in a high-altitude area. I probably won't attempt this recipe again, thanks anyway!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: jelly
wow! what a delicious cake, i made 36 cupcakes and they came out perfect,also i made a 2 layer 9" cake with peanutbutter icing,and today i'm making a 13x9"cake with a homemade cornstartch pudding on top. this recipe is very versitile and our new family favorite.our daughter and i make it all the time. happy baking
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches