My reviews (24)

Norwegian chocolate hazelnut cake

This lovely Norwegian hazelnut cake is a dense and intensely flavoured cake, great alongside a strong mug of coffee.
Reviews (24)


06 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ROBIN.U
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and he rated it as better than German chocolate, which has been his favorite since I have known him! Thanks for the new and interesting recipe. I will make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2004
Reviewed by: TLOZEC
Wow! I can not believe more members and visitors to allrecipes.com have not tried this keeper. I found it easy to make, great looking and great tasting. The chocolate glaze compliments this nicely nutty cake in such a pretty way that it makes it wonderful for entertaining.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: DIANA BOSKMA
One of the best, quickest and child friendliest recipes ever. My kids and me loved it, we just ate it in 2 hours, this says a lot, they usually dont like sweet stuff. The kids I babysit love it too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Melissa
This is ridiculously good. I whipped it up last-minute after being asked to bring a dessert to an impromptu going-away party, as these were the ingredients that I had on hand. I brought it to the party where it was devoured, and immediately made another one the following day that we DIDN'T need to share! My only adjustment was to add organic hazelnut extract to up the hazelnut flavor, about 2-3 tsp.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: taniap
great tasting cake! I love hazelnuts so I added nutella to the glaze as well as made a middle using marscapone cheese, powdered sugar and fangelico. Split the cake in half and spread. This one's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: ZGARCIA
Eady a very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: vkvhawk
very very dry but injected it with frangelico afterwards which really helped moisture and flavor level. Icing was very good though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: SnooziQ
This cake is "so friggin' good" (to quote my husband). By far the best way I have found to use up the huge bagful of hazelnuts that my mother-in-law dropped off a few weeks ago. Although shelling the nuts takes a bit, the cake itself is quick and easy to throw together. I had wanted to make the glaze as well, but realized too late that I didn't have any cream, so instead I added a half cup of mini chocolate chips to the batter and left the finished cake plain. I did not have high expectations when I took it out of the oven because it looked really hard on the top, but after it cooled and we tasted it, it is sooooooooooo good. I cooked mine a half hour and having left it a little tiny bit underdone made it almost have a "brownie-like" consistency. Very good...one of the best cakes I've had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: nilda
Awesome! Will try with other nuts as well
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 May 2010
Reviewed by: lisabethie
i followed the recipe exactly and cooked for well over 40 mins and it still didn't cook thoroughly in the center...i'm not sure what I did wrong.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches