My reviews (107)

Easy red velvet cake

A moist, light cake that's coloured red, frosted with a vanilla cream cheese icing and covered with chopped nuts. Once your friends and family taste this, it'll become a regular request!
Reviews (107)


08 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: bellystoneuk
My friend requested a velvet cake for her Birthday, and since I'd never made one before I wanted an easy one. This one came out PERFECTLY and everyone enjoyed it a lot THANK YOU XXX Just don't try and be clever like me and make it blue instead of red as it came out a weird mouldy colour as I had also added cocoa powder...ooops! Will do it by the book next time
 
30 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: MariaLamata
I followed this recipe but the red velvet cake turned into brown cake! Can somebody tell me how to do this cake
 
23 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Toshiba234
I was really worried about making a red velvet cake because I had never made one before, but not anymore. This recipe is so easy to follow, results is a really tasty cake that everyone loved, Would recommend this recipe to everyone :D thank you so much!
 
23 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: TraceyEllis
I've just made this Red Velvet Cake, followed the recipe and it's certainly not red, more a mucky grey colour. What have I done wrong??
 
05 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: minimilo
I am not normally a fan of a veg oil based cake but this is a good recipe. I did not have enough red food colouring (I used a whole tube of gel) so it was more of a pink velvet cake!
 
09 May 2016
Reviewed by: BenFoy
Well, I thought I followed this simple recipe pretty closely. Apparently not as my cake turned out grey/brown and not very tasty
 
24 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: MalvernMum
This is the first time I've ever baked a cake that tastes of nothing. Very disappointed in this recipe
 
19 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: KCassini
Came out lovely and moist. Thouroughly enjoyed by all
 
20 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: JoClark
Yummy. Thanks. Made as 24 cup cakes just cooked for 20 minutes or so.
 
19 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: mazda40
Just made this cake it turned out Brown and Grey in the middle, I thought this was meant to be red, so what am I doing Wrong can somebody tell me please?
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches