My reviews (15)

Basil and Spinach Summer Pesto

If you have an abundance of fresh herbs in your garden or windowbox - try this flavourful herb and spinach pesto. Use it to top a barbecued steak, or spread on top of garlic bread or simply add to hot pasta. This pesto will keep stored in an airtight container in the fridge for up to one week. It can also be frozen for up to one month.
Reviews (15)


07 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
Loved it! I too subbed because of what I had available. Used several types of basil, more parsley, and the spinach. I used half toasted pine nuts, half toasted sunflower seeds. I thought the oil amount was pretty spot on. With all my pestos I add a pinch of red pepper flake for some heat, and juice from half a lemon to help prevent oxidation and add a little freshness. If you are storing the pesto for a while, it also helps to float about a teaspoon of evoo on the surface to prevent discoloration. We had this over our grilled shrimp and some rigatoni pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Leann
Enjoyed this recipe! Of course made a few changes to compensate for what was available in our garden. Had to omit the oregano because ours chose not to grow this year, however, we did have several flavors of basil and parsley, so adjusted those to make up the difference. Loved the addition of the spinach to this pesto. It helped to blend all the flavors together, and in no way lent an unpleasant taste at all. In fact for me, it made the dish much more enjoyable by helping ease back on the basil, which can sometimes be a bit overpowering in pesto. We also chose to use walnuts, instead of the more traditional pine nuts, and found them to work well with the fresh ingredients from our garden. Some cold pressed extra virgin olive oil and 3 or 4 cloves of fresh garlic were all that we used. No cheese for dietary reasons. Served over spelt pasta and chicken....WOW, what a meal!!! I think this recipe deserves 4.5 stars, but no rating for that. Reason: I think some of the measurements are just a bit off. We used more garlic...could be taste specific, but I don't think so. Also if substituting walnuts for pine nuts, be prepared to use more like 1 1/2 cups. Olive oil, more like 1 - 1 1/2 cups. Fresh ingredients can be more variable to work with than dried or canned or boxed, so be prepared to add a little here and there. Will be keeping this one in the recipe box to make over and over again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: dml2006
SOOOOOO good! Everytime I watch Free Willy 2 I make this to share with friends...just like in the movie when Randolph (August Shellenberg) and Jesse make Pesto to cheer up thier sick killer whale friend (Keiko)!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Ruth Bridges
This is a fabulous recipe for using the many herbs that are popping in the garden! I substituted chard for the spinach (darn! will plant spinach next year..) otherwise followed it to the letter. Served over tortellinis one night and had raves from the peanut gallery! After refrigerating and heating up 2 days later, served with linguine, another dinner table hit! I will keep this recipe for Pesto Chicken and any other pesto recipe that comes along. DEE-LISH!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: WestCoast Frog
I've made this a few times now, and each time is as delicious as the last.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: kkilgannon
Whoa! This pesto is wicked delicious. Although, of course, I did do some modifications. I used a little extra spinach instead of the parsley, and added only a couple tablespoons (fresh) of oregano since that was all my plant had on it at the moment. Since pine nuts are crazy expensive, I substituted cashews in. I also added a little lemon juice as a couple people suggested. Okay, so maybe I didn't do a great job of following the recipe. But this came out better than I could have hoped for my first time making pesto!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 May 2011
Reviewed by: Maria Joy Schrock
I followed the recipe exactly except I used almonds instead of the pine nuts. Delicious, but not extremely strong flavors. They blend well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: EmilyJ
I came across this recipe and happened to have ALL of the ingredients in my pantry and garden - including the herbs - so I tried making this today. OH MY LORD is it delicious! Now, I didn't measure everything out exactly (kinda eyeballed the oil and herbs), but it turned out beautifully. When I first tasted it, I was a little put off by the strength of the garlic (raw garlic always has a little bite), but once I put it over pasta, it was absolutely delicious. The only thing I might try differently next time (as this recipe is excellent on its own) is lightly roasting the garlic first to take away that bite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 May 2012
Reviewed by: cochab
Very simple and a good use for the herbs over-running my garden. Lots of flavor. If, like me, you don't have a food processor add a touch of water to get it started in the blender. Otherwise you would have to use a lot of olive oil. This is going to become a fridge staple, I'm sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Sandy
I've tried lots of pesto recipes & this was the best ever! I could eat it by the spoonful! I used minced garlic in a jar that I keep in the fridge, & I used the shaker Parmesan instead of fresh; & I used pecans in place of pine nuts; didn't add any salt or pepper. I think the pecans gave it a great taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches