My reviews (92)

Stir-Fried Sesame Green Pepper and Broccoli

Need a quick and easy side dish? Broccoli and green pepper are stir-fried in light sesame oil with sesame seeds.
Reviews (92)


28 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: angeljin
Thankyou for the recipe Kristab. Quick and easy = perfect. Delicious. Served with - Penne with Spinach, Tomatoes and pancetta recipe By Jean.
 
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: judy
This dish is very good, and with a few tweaks is even better. I used red and yellow peppers to add a little colour. Before adding the broccoli, I sauteed a little minced garlic in the oil. After the vegetables had sauteed a little, I added a couple of tablespoons of water and covered the pan to let the veggies steam until they reached the desired tender crisp stage. A splash of soy sauce and toasted sesame seeds finished the dish. This was very well received at Easter dinner, even by those who usually reject all things green. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: SunFlower
A simple way to enjoy broccoli and peppers. I don't agree with reviewers who said it was bland: sesame oil gives a nice nutty taste to this dish! Sometimes, you just have to enjoy the simple taste of veggies..
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: SCHMONA
Very tasty and quick to make! I used light sesame oil, added 2 cloves of garlic and 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce for added flavor. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
I don't get it. Since this recipe called for no seasoning, not even salt and pepper, I knew it would need something to liven it up. But even after adding onion, fresh garlic, salt, pepper, soy sauce and a dribble of toasted sesame seed oil, this was still, as my husband aptly described it, "nondescript."
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: GUYCHEF
This is a good recipe, but since broccoli is normally a pretty bland tasting veggie, I made one big change. I used "Hot" sesame oil. I used a wok and doubled the amount of oil and cooking times. The result was quite "invigerating". However, if you prefer "mild" salsa, etc, this is not for you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: DENISE BIENCOURT
This is my all time favorite way to eat broccoli now! I omitted the green pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
At first taste, I thought they were pretty bland. (But I wasn't that surprised. Afterall, there are no spices). However, I let them saute an extra min once I added a couple splashes of soy sauce (as others suggested) and the taste was much better. Went well with our baked bird and potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: XANGELUSX
This meal was quick to make, but didn't offer much for flavor. I'm sure some soy sauce or other spices would help it out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MJ
Quick & tasty. Like others, I added garlic and soy sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches