My reviews (29)

Pork and Mushroom Fried Rice Noodles

This is called 'tsao mi fun' in China, or 'tsa bi whun' in Taiwan. My mum's been making this dish since I was a little girl. All the measurements here are pretty much to taste, some people like more pork, some less, some more soy sauce, some less, etc.
Reviews (29)


01 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: cecilia8240
Delicious! I had to adjust the recipe though, since I am vegetarian. I used tofu instead of pork, marinating it according to the recipe, and I omitted the shrimps. It was easy to do, not too long and very flavorful. There's a lot of veggie and meat compared to the noodles, but I liked it that way. Do not omit the 5 spice powder: it really make the dish. If you don't have any, you can make your own by grinding 2 star anise with 1/2 tsp whole fennel seeds and 1/2 tsp whole cloves, then adding 1 tsp ground cinnamon and 1/4 tsp pepper. One last thing: it makes four generous servings, but it's so good that you may find yourself eating more than you should! Thanks Tina, I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: leftoverQueen
I've made this a couple of times,with different noodles. rice and mung bean, I like the rice better thicker. with that said you can play with it,adding as much or as little stuff you like. Don't forget the dried shrimp though it is critical. I also made with 8 oz noodles and 6 oz noodles unless you really really like alot of noodles use the 6 oz. It's hard to mix in the noodles but be patient and gentle
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Jenwee99
I finally made this after having it in my recipe box forever. I agree that the five-spice powder makes the dish. I had issues with my noodles. After soaking for 10 minutes they were still crunchy. So I dont know if the rice noodles I bought were strange or something. I tried soaking them in hot water for 15 minutes and they were still pretty "el dente". I did like this dish, it makes A LOT. I added some siracha for some heat. Thanks for a great recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2010
Reviewed by: cluv
This is the only and best tsao mi fun dish I've found on the web. I made it for dinner tonight and it was soooo good. And I am Taiwanese. I LOVE five spice powder! And I do agree it should be for 6 servings instead of 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: brwnNbrusd46
Awesome recipe! Just don't use too much five spice or dried shrimp, as they can both overwhelm the dish. Also couldn't find black mushrooms at the asian grocery, so just use regular mushrooms.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Regina Frick
My dad loves Mi Fun from the local restraunt so I wanted to try making it for him. (He said if I'd keep making it for him he'd never have to buy it again I made a few changes - I like to do my eggs like the egg in egg drop soup instead of the pancake. I also omit all the ingredients involving the pork, skip the mushrooms and use regular shrimp. I use way more cabbage as we all like it. And at the end I add salt, pepper and soy sauce to taste. I'm so happy to now be able to make this myself!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: mo
couldn't find all the ingredients so I made some substitutes and it still came out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 May 2012
Reviewed by: mary00
Overall a good recipe. Easy to follow and the taste is pretty authentic. The only thing that may vary is the amount of time to soak the rice vermicelli. It really depends on the brand. The one I used took 30 minutes to soften.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Janice
Tasty rice noodle dish! I found that the noodles seemed a little hard after pan-frying for a little bit, so I added more water and covered to soften the noodles. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: halfdozen
I am Taiwanese and this dish is no-where near what I am used to. It came out a bit too dry, too... Not sure what I missed but one of our 5 kids seemed to like it. So I gave it 2 stars and am willing to try it one more time,,, maybe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches