My reviews (2,516)

Pulled pork sandwiches

Mouth-watering, tender pork cooked in a slow cooker and served with barbecue sauce. An American favourite, serve on floury baps with coleslaw and crisps.
Reviews (2516)


Comment:
15 Sep 2008
memejw said:
Something else. This recipe is impossible to screw up...also, everyone we've tried this (about ten times) on loves it. After experimenting a bit, we've settled on the following: pepper then brown pork -- chop med - large onion, put in bottom of slow cooker with browned meat on top, then pour on 1/2-3/4 bottle of bbq sauce, cook for 8-10 hours, remove bone(s) and large pieces of fat, shred meat, put back in the cooker, mix with the leftover bbq sauce then switch to high for 1/2-1 hr. serve on rolls with beer
 
15 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: julietape
we absolutely adore pulled pork but you cannot seem to get it in any uk restaurants so we have only enjoyed it in america. Tried this recipe with jack Daniels BBQ sauce and it is delicious - a real family favourite.
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BSAUNDER
Don't use an expensive cut of meat when the cheap cuts work as well. Honestly, the pork will be very tender and the flavour rich. It only takes a small amount of work to remove the bones & fat. The meat itself remains reasonably lean. You will save much money by trying the cheaper cuts of pork
 
16 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: CailinLondon
Really easy recipe for something a bit different. I used pork loin and browned in in frying pan first. Only downside is that it doesn't keep well - I usually cook in bulk when using my slow cooker, but bits of the pork had hardened within 24 hours
 
12 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: louisejohn87
I cooked this using a pork loin joint for 4 hours on high then shredded
 
21 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: JennyPierrepont
Turned out perfectly, I did use pork shoulder instead of ribs as it was cheaper. Also I didn't put it in the oven but added the BBQ sauce to the slow cooker and set it to warm. It was yummy and everyone enjoyed it.
 
07 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Bradley1984
Absolutely fantastic, I made this to the letter and it came out fantastic. I would advise resting for 15 minutes then shredding whilst still hot as it will be much more difficult to shred.
 
04 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Jackieb
loved this recipe it was so easy and my family ate it all without complaint.. thanks
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: T-Bone
Really, really good. Again, I always follow the recipe exactly the first time I make it and this time I was glad I had. I was very tempted, like others, to just throw the sauced meat back into the slow cooker - I mean, why mess up another pan, right? Well I think it made a big, positive difference to the final product. The time in the oven kind of browns the tips and makes it seem more like meat done on the bbq. I will definately be making this again.
 
14 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: GeorgeKennedy
Actually the best thing ever. It is so easy. I'm a uni student, I put this on before uni and come back to an almost fully preped pulled pork delight. 100% give this a go! Total cost cannot be more than £8 - £10 for 6 servings! I used pork shoulder, less bones = less hassle.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches