My reviews (27)

Welsh tea cakes

Similiar to pancakes but thicker - these are simply delicious eaten warm, with butter and jam.
Reviews (27)


03 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: HAVL
Good moist recipe but I added a teaspoon of mixed spice for extra flavour.
 
04 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Eriica_D
They are just called Welsh cakes πŸ‘Œ very good recipe though πŸ˜€
 
29 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer Lias Payne
My grandfather was Welsh and I can remember my grandmother making Welsh cookies when I was a small child. I was so thrilled to see this recipe on the site and decided to give it a whirl after talking to a coworker from the UK who said he had not had the cookies since he was a kid either. My 3 year-old daughter helped me make the cookies and we both had a blast! Instead of currants (I couldn't find any at my local grocery store) we used dates because I don't particularly care for raisins. They tasted wonderful and came out looking great! My coworker from the UK said that they were excellent - just like the ones his Welsh "Nam" used to make. My boss loved them so much I swear he ate half the batch. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: carlin
i love these, they remind me of scones. I mix spices(cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg) with the flour. Also i rolol the dough into balls and squash them on the pan. great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: MISSYBPP
Taste like the cookies I buy at the Celtic festivals from the Welsh Cookie Company. Delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
These are so good........ I used all butter and raisins. I also added 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg along with a tsp. of vanilla. I have to admit I burnt the first batch and then adjusted the temperature of my pan accordingly. I sprinkled them with sugar and froze half the batch. Yet another breakfast treat for my husband to enjoy with his coffe at work!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: juliev
I inherited my grandmother's recipe and it is different than this, we use all butter, no shortening and raisins instead of currents, and lots of nutmeg (2 tblspns), also we don't sprinkle sugar on top. It is great with coffee or tea and isn't very sweet
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: SelfProphet
"Cakes" not cookies.. The welsh regard cookies as an American sweet biscuit kinda like the normal chocolate chip cookie. You can like this recipe decorate it with sugar or spread a thin layer of butter to give it a little moisture. Ideally eaten with a nice cup of tea or as a chocolate bar alternative in a lunch box. The best way to cook the cakes are on an old cast iron pan where it has a used natural coating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Diane
This almost the exact replica of my husband's Welsh great-grandmother's recipe. I use 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 unsalted butter. This is the one Christmas cookie that I always have to make. Great with a cup of tea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Bren0725
I made these for Christmas, followed the recipe exactly except for the second batch I made I added 1/4 cup more sugar, turned out great. Thank You...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches