My reviews (1,407)

Whipped cream cream cheese icing

A creamy, thick icing that pipes easily onto cakes or cupcakes.
Reviews (1407)


11 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: LouiseMcculloch
This was a nice frosting.I made the whipped cream in stiff peaks first,then added cream cheese, it was for icing a carrot cake.think I would use it for the middle of a plain sponge the next time.
 
25 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Kalsmommy11
I love this recipe. Not keen on buttercream and this is just superbly delicious and easy to make! Yummy. Thanks! X
 
19 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: chubss
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! Thank you! A few of you have mentioned lumps in the frosting. What works for me, I warm my mixing bowl with hot water first. It is just enough warmth to "melt?" the cream cheese. Then use a chilled bowl for the Whipped cream, whip till very stiff. Maybe why some are having trouble with it being runny. Fold together and it is absolutely scrumptious!! Awesome flavor! So much lighter than a Cream Cheese frosting. It won't over power the flavor of your cake. Had many requests. MAY I ADD A HINT TO ALL WHO HAVE HAD TROUBLE WITH THIS RECIPE BEING RUNNY! IF USING THE SAME BOWL AND BEATERS YOU MUST WHIP THE CREAM FIRST. IF THERE IS EVEN A HINT OF THE CREAM CHEESE (OILY SUBSTANCE) IN THE BOWL OR ON THE BEATERS YOU WILL NOT GET YOUR CREAM TO "WHIP" UP TO A STIFF CONSISTENCY, WHICH MEANS THE FROSTING WILL BE TOO RUNNY. YOU MUST TRY AGAIN. VERY DELICIOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 May 2007
Reviewed by: Cindy
Superb supreme excellent wonderful spectacular delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: KIMBACUB
This was a real, real disappointment. There is NO WAY you can pipe this frosting...it is soooooooo soft and runny. I am an part time cake decorator so I am very familiar with piping frosting. I placed my bowl and beaters in the freezer and chilled my whipped cream. It was still too soft to really ice anything other than a flat sheet cake. After reading the reviews I noted that some people said use only 1 cup of whipped cream and not 1 ½ cups. Possibly that may have made it a little thicker. But my point is...the recipe as written does not work. Another reviewer suggested that this frosting can only be used on a flat, sheet type cake and I totally agree. I used this to frost a 10 inch angel food cake and it just started to drip/slide down the sides. It did not hold up well.....and that was after refrigerating and trying to chill/thicken it up. I would never make this again....stick will regular, buttercream creamcheese frosting. If you enjoy carrot cake with traditional cream cheese frosting you will not enjoy this fluffy, runny, whipped cream version.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: CELLOFISH
Very Good recipe. If you are concerned about it not being stiff enough for decorating I would do the following. Dissolve 1 Tablespoon unflavored gelatin in 2-3 T boiling water. Strain out lumps if necessary. While beating the finished frosting very fast with mixer pour in hot gelatin mixture. I know this may seem odd-beating quickly and adding hot liquid but it works. Keep beating for a minute or two until it is well mixed (if not there will be lumps of gelatin). The frosting will stand up much better for decorating, I've used it many times for borders, writing and other (nothing too fancy though). The frosting will hold its shape after it is decorated for a few days.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: PATRINCIA
I make large special occasion/wedding cakes. This recipe is a definite winner in the taste category, but it's only good as a filling. I was very disappointed in it as a frosting because it has way too many airholes, and it just doesn't firm up enough when chilled to be stable (and not slide off the cake). It does truly taste wonderful, and would be great as a fruit tart filling. I made a double batch decorate a large cake and ditched that plan shortly after I started frosting the cake. I read that it piped well, but I could just tell that was not going to work (and NO, my cream was not over whipped!). Note to the person who tried to substitute powdered sugar in this recipe: Powdered sugar is less sweet than granulated sugar, so you need 1 3/4 c powdered sugar to equal 1 c white granulated sugar. You can't always substitute powdered for granulated, but in this case you can. Actually, now that I think about it, powdered sugar contains 3% cornstarch which might aid in firming this recipe up a bit - I'll give it a try using powdered sugar next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
I was nervous to make this based on the same concerns and problems coming up in many reviews and I was using this for a round devil's food cake. I always chill beaters and copper bowl.Chilled heavy cream also. Cream cheese was room temp. Debated the sugar issue:10x or granulated and chose to stick to the recipe. I beat the cream until it was almost like butter and placed it back in freezer while doing the rest. I whipped the sugar/cheese forever and there was no grainy text. When I put it together I could see that it seemed somewhat 'loose' so decided to put it back in the freezer for another 15 min. Garnished w/strawberries as seen in the pic and placed them between a papertowel to draw up the extra moisture and not leave pink 'footprints' on my frosting, or slide down the sides from wetness. The cake frosted fine although it is a very whippy frosting even after all the extra precautions. I wouldn't hesitate to just whip it up and throw it on a sheet cake but would take the extra time when doing a round cake. The taste is incredible. I love it because it is not sugary sweet but sweet enough and complimented by the cream cheese. I agree that this would make an A-1 fruit dip!!! Slathered liberally on the cake and still had about 1/2 a cottage cheese container left over so it does make plenty! I absolutely love this and would be great with almond extract on a cherry cake. This is definitely a keeper. thank you so much for such a lovely whippy non-sickening frosting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Since I wanted to pipe the frosting onto cupcakes, and given some reviews indicated this frosting wasn't firm enough for that, I adjusted the sugar and cream to suit my needs. I used powdered sugar rather than white, and reduced the whipping cream to 3/4 cup. Once I had the frosting made I chilled it just long enough to make it of piping consistency. This was a light, fluffy cream cheese frosting which was the perfect choice for "Red Velvet Cupcakes," also from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: GARCIAGM
ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT ICING AND FILLING!!! I used this on a yellow cake for my husband's birthday and HE even said the icing made the cake. IT TASTES WONDERFUL!! You HAVE to be patient while you're whipping the cream because it can take a while, but you will know the cream is ready when it looks like Cool Whip. Also, make sure to stick the beaters and the bowl (I prefer a glass bowl) in the freezer for about 15 minutes before you whip the heavy cream. Your cream cheese MUST be at room temperature or you will end up with lumps. You'll find that if you do it right, this icing is light enough that it spreads PERFECTLY onto your cake, not like the tubs of icing you buy in the store. THIS ICING IS GREAT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches