My reviews (29)

Wheat gluten free Victoria sponge cake

A very light moist cake, just like a normal Victoria sponge, but wheat and gluten free! Use margarine rather than butter as it is lighter.
Reviews (29)


Comment:
18 Oct 2012
Hi, i can see this seems to be a successful recipe, im looking to make this for a friends birthday, can you just give an idea of what size tins you use? im looking to do a rectangle cake.
 
02 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: spoony208
I have used this recipe two years in a row for my wifes birthday and both times it has been a great success. Once all ingredients are in bowl i like to whisk it all together for a bit longer than usual to get as much air as possible into it. I used asda free from self rasing flour and no baking powder along with lemon flavouring instead of vanilla this year and also used Betty Crocker chocolate buttercream icing for the topping this year and it was a great success
 
12 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: slicasam
It might be obvious to most people, but a lot of baking powder contains gluten. It would be nice to add this as a warning when baking powder is listed as an ingredient. My poor Dad tried to bake me a cake especially but didn't realise that because of the baking powder he used I couldn't actually eat it!
 
22 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: LOL123
WOW that was amazing im only 10 years old and that was super my mum has allergies to wheat and gluten so i made this for her!!!
 
24 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: julsiep
Made this with granulated sugar, 50 butter 1/2 flora buttery and added 1 tsp of vanilla essence. Filled with jam and fresh cream. This is the best cake i've had for 2 years and my family thought it was the best even though they don't usually have gf foods. A big thumbs up.
 
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Basketcase
A first class recipe that works every time. Use 7" sandwich tins. Add the milk very slowly, you need a quite thick batter, it should not be sloppy at all or it will sink in the middle. Use only medium sizes eggs.
 
09 May 2011
Reviewed by: twinkie5705
Light & moist unlike other sandy-textured gluten-free cakes!
 
29 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: lauren269
Very nice and moist, i topped it with cream and strawberrys. YUMMY!
 
02 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: ymr2310
I've made this twice now and it tastes great but it has sunken both times!!! Can anyone tell me where I'm going wrong???
 
08 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: pixierain
Amazing cake, so light and moist. Tastes like real cake, wouldn't guess it's gluten free
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches