My reviews (413)

Strawberry and banana wholemeal muffins

This recipe uses frozen strawberries so you can make them any time of the year, but feel free to use fresh. The apple sauce keeps them moist.
Reviews (413)


13 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: gasoof
Too much cinnamon it drowns the flavours of the other ingredients.Apart from that nice recipe
 
11 May 2008
Reviewed by: ashleyco
Taking some advice from reviewers and working with what I had on hand I added 1/2 c oats (since I only had 2 bananas), reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tbs, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, replaced the applesauce with plain yogurt, and replaced the veg oil with applesauce. I also made sure to mash the strawberries. These were SO INCREDIBLY AMAZING. The texture was perfect, lighter than I expected and they were amazingly moist. The kept their moisture extremely well and if they hadn't been such a hit with the finace and rommates I'm sure they would've stayed that way regardless of where I kept them for at least a week. Throwing texture aside the taste of these was enough to make me a fan for life. (Although for those avoiding sugar I could see reducing the sugar just a tad-they'd still be fantastical) Delicious, filling, healthy, and quick to make!...what more could you ask for?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: CaityCait
I use this recipe so often to make banana bread. I omit the strawberries and replace the oil with an additional 1/4 c of applesauce. I also add a tsp of allspice and 1/2 tsp of salt. I bake each loaf for 50 minutes. Even the traditional high fat banana bread lovers in my family say this bread is delicious. My dad told me last night that I make some darn good banana bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: yippee5
Wow, how delightfully different and healthy! These make a great breakfast. I used canola oil (healthier fats) and substituted half a cup of the flour with 1/2 cup of wheat germ to up the fiber content. Very moist and full of flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 May 2005
Reviewed by: JOHNYZGRL528
I thought this recipe was fantastic! Thanks Mimi! I usually have a hard time w/making baked goods, but these were easy and they came out great!! The only thing I did different was add blueberries instead of strawberries, and I used 2 large bananas instead of 3. I did read the other reviews, and I dont understand why there was any negative ones--but a tip for future bakers would be to make sure they FOLD the bananas around the dry ingredients. Dont stir the batter, but if you do, definitely dont stir too much--that makes the muffins hard sometimes. Good luck and I hope everyone else enjoyes these muffins as much as I did!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: KimEats
Fabulous! The best whole grain muffin I've tried. The first time I made them, I used fresh strawberries, but they pretty much disintegrated in the baking process--still tasted great. The second time, I used blueberries instead of the strawberries and they held up much better and were just as delicious! They freeze well. I take one out before bed and it's ready the next morning for breakfast on the go!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: Caroline
I cut the vegetable oil down to 2 tablespoons, and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and large bananas. My muffins were very moist and delicious, not too sweet. I also used fresh strawberries, and they worked well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: CoOkInGnUt
These was really good in flavor but sadly i could not give it 5 stars because the frozen strawberries basicly disapeared while cooking I followed everything to the letter and it did not rise at all the parts without berries in it was very dense and was really hopin for a light fluffy muffin. not to mention the holes from where the berries was not happy but will try it again with fresh berries an hope for the best beacause i loved the flavor!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I was looking for a healthy muffin recipe and ran across this one. I decided to do a little experimenting to make it even healthier by leaving out the sugar, adding another banana, wheat germ and replacing half of the wheat flour with oat flour. I'm happy to say that I was very pleased with the results. I can only imagine how good they would be with the sugar. Thanks Mimi!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
I had fun making these. Used mixed berry applesauce, and a little less sugar. I used frozen whole strawberries, and chopped them in the food processor. I should have chopped them a little more though, because some of the pieces were too big and were mushy and gooey in the muffins. Pretty good muffins, but not ones I'll be rushing to make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches