My reviews (57)

Easy peasy salsa

Salsa can't be made any quicker than this. Perfect with tortilla crisps for a last-minute party nibble.
Reviews (57)


10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: nocandew
Loved this. Easy. Reminds me exactly of the salsa of a popular Mexican food restaurant in town. I wouldn't change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Lynn Lombardo Durham
Made this salsa with 2 lg cans of whole Italian tomatoes instead of stewed (they are always awesome) and an extra clove of garlic. OMG..the best salsa ever! Thanks Susan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: MBKRH
Wow! The half bunch of cilantro is overpowering, and I love cilantro! I used three cloves of garlic, only one can of tomatoes (Del Monte brand, Mexican recipe), I omitted the salt and pepper, but added a bit of white onion and some lime juice. I also had to use two jalapenos, as the store I stopped at didn't have any serranos. Very good salsa, but next time I'll cut down on the amount of cilantro.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: CIAMWORKING
I absolutely love this recipe! It is so easy & super fast to make. My family adores salsa and I can't afford to buy so much and this recipe was rated by my picky family as BETTER THAN THE STORES!!! We have used the recipe many times now with many people and it is a hit with everyone. I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe. Thank you for submitting it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Betsy Halcomb
Used fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of canned. Added red onion and lime juice. Easy & Tastey! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: solberg2141
I thought this was a good salsa! I've never use serrano peppers before, and boy are they hot! I made 1 1/2 bateh and I used one large pepper and next time I'll only use 1/2 of one. It definitely left a zing on my lips. I also added a touch of liquid smoke and a couple of green onions! I added quite a bit of salt as I like my salsa more salty than sweet. Maybe a different brand of tomatoes would help that as well. Definitely a keeper recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: texasbec
This salsa is delicious. It was my first attempt at making homemade salsa and I liked the fact that you call it "simple". I didn't have garlic cloves so I used garlic powder and it was still good. I only had jalapeno peppers, so I added 1 without seeds and 1 with all the seeds...the results were great! If it gets too hot I've found you can add another whole or partial can of the tomatos and it will put out some of the flame. I mix it up in my food processor and it takes less than 5 minutes to make the whole batch. I love that! I served it to my family and in-laws at a cookout and my brother-in-law declared it "perfect" and my husband now says he likes my salsa better than any restaurant salsa he's ever had. We have to keep a batch on hand at all times or "there's nothing to eat!" according to my husband! I've told several people where the recipe came from...I'd love to take the credit but I can't so I take the compliment and give away my secret! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Baricat
Although I don't like salsa, my comments are based on the review of my son, who loves it. He said it is at least as good and probably better than any salsa he has ever had. I used Del Monte stewed tomatoes for chili. Did not have chives, but substituted finely diced onion, about 4-5 Tb, which I browned in a little olive oil along with the garlic before processing with the other ingredients. Also added a spritz of fresh lime juice, one poblano and one jalapeno pepper (in place of the 2 serranos) and some diced, peeled and seeded fresh tomato at the end, after processing all the other ingredients together, to give a fresh taste and chunkier texture. The result was a "mild to medium hot" salsa, according to my son. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, which will be kept and made often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: MRSWHOOP
This is s must! I will never make another Salsa again, I just love it. Thank you!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: apeters
If you use the petite diced tomatoes, you don't even need the blender. We have a brand near us call Dei Fratelli and they almost taste like fresh! Wonderful and a fav at my house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches