My reviews (28)

Tofu and Tahini Sandwich Filling

This makes a great vegan sandwich filling. You can replace the sunflower seeds with sesame seeds if you prefer. Try it on a toasted bagel with ripe tomato slices, or on granary bread with lettuce and onion.
Reviews (28)


22 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: colleen
This was okay. The texture was a little weird, next time I might use silken tofu just to make it smoother. My husband thought it was hummus.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 May 2001
Reviewed by: PATTY JOE
Absolutely delicious on whole wheat toast! My 15 month old son loves it and gets excited when I ask if he wants TMT for lunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: CHARLOTTEEVE
Prep time is actually about 30 minutes, because th tofu should be pressed, but the spread is delicious! I tried with some red peppers on whote wheat toast and it is yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Ms Veggie Lover
I get tired of the egglass salad recipe and was so happy to find this. It is very good, though I used yellow miso because it's all I had, and added celery instead of the sunflower seeds. I made it for people who wanted to try tofu but didn't know what to do with it. They ate all of it. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: pinkypink
Awesome vegan spread. Very filing and makes a ton! You can easily get 10+ sandwiches with one batch of this. There's something very creamy and tastes almost like it has eggs or cheese it in. It definitely tastes better the next day. I'll be making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Irene
This recipe has potential but I think there was way too much miso (lots of sodium as noted in the submitter's own review, and also the flavour is very strong). I would use only 2 or 3 tbsp of miso next time. The seeds and onion (I used red) are great for flavour and texture. I didn't use carrots but it would be a good idea. I used Ryvita crackers, which equals about 12 generous servings (one per cracker).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Deselle
Really good spread! I used dehydrated onion flakes and put them under the tofu to rehydrate while I added the other ingredients. I didn't have brown miso so I used half white and half red and it was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Jasmine Couillard
A pretty expensive flop. I didn't care for it that much. My 9 year old daughter is the only one of my three kids that was willing to eat it on a sandwich. The tahini cost $9 for a jar. The miso was a bit hard to find for awhile in the Asian section and cost $5.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches