My reviews (143)

Tofu peanut stir-fry

Cubes of tofu are stir-fried in a wok until golden brown and slightly crispy, then tossed with vegetables and peanut sauce. Serve with noodles, if you like.
Reviews (143)


26 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Gilda George
I was very pleased with the way this dish turned out. I didn't follow the recipe exactly as stated, because I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand. I also added some additional ingredients to suit my taste. Instead of stir-fry veggies, I used a mixture of frozen sliced carrots with broccili and cauliflower, which I added to one chopped sauteed onion and three 3 cloves of minced garlic. Powdered ginger was used, but next time I will be sure to use fresh. I skipped the eggs and tossed the tofu in arrowroot, instead of cornstarch, before cooking it in the hot oil. I used a very good prepared Thai peanut sauce and added whole almonds, as suggested by another reviewer. To enhance the flavor more, I added five spice powder, garlic powder and soy sauce. We all loved this dish and found it was best served over rice. The almonds complimented the flavors well and added a nice crunch. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: CARRIE6208
For the new year we plan on eating meat only 2 days a week, so we tried this as it is a vegetarian dish. My husband LOVED it, I thought the veggies were a bit dry. I tried adding more peanut sauce to fix the problem, but it made it too spicy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Baybee Caix
As a vegetarian (10 months and going strong!), I was anxious to eat something rich and hearty today. I absolutely love Thai coconut curries and soups, so this recipe was very appealing to me. My local grocery store didn't have any peanut sauce by the jar. Instead, I found Taste of ThaiĀ® brand Peanut Sauce Mix- which was a package of 2 envelopes of powder. The directions say to mix both envelopes of mix with 1 can of coconut milk to yield 2 cups of sauce, so I used 1 packet with about 3/4 can of coconut milk to make more sauce. I fried the tofu over HIGH heat because it was taking more than 5 minutes to turn golden brown over medium heat. Another thing: I looked at how much oil was left in the pan and decided to drain off ALL OF IT! After I got rid of the oil, I drained the fried tofu onto some paper towels and proceeded to make the sauce in the same wok until it thickened. I then added the fried tofu along with the veggies. I used frozen stir fry veggies, and I didn't care for the wet, soggy texture. I would definitely use fresh veggies next time for a more desireable al dente texture. All in all, great flavor, but I have to admit I regretted not being generous with the ginger. I would use 1 HEAPING tbs. of minced ginger next time. This stir-fry was served with brown rice. Could do without rice or noodles... easily. All that tofu really fills you up. THIS IS A DELICIOUS STICK-TO-YOUR-RIBS type of dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Big Kev
This makes for a pretty darn good meal. I liked it. Another option if you want to cut the fat content down some, is to substitute the dry fry method when prepping the tofu (google it if you don't know how). That will eliminate the need for deep frying methods. This will cut down the oil requirements, eliminate the eggs and cornstarch, and will help dry out the tofu enough where it won't fall apart. This will also result in the sauce being absorbed a little better. Either way though, this is a pretty good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Daughter of Cheryl
Even better with chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Lawbakergirl
Loved it! Got my boyfriend to eat tofu. Made extra sauce and served it over rice noodles. YUM I used powdered ginger instead of fresh, and fresh veggies instead of frozen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Karen
Easy and awesome dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 May 2009
Reviewed by: Rhianna
Very tasty, if you add sauce to the vegs., such as soy sauce, or a liquidy peanut sauce, or some other stir fry sauce. I used fresh vegs. (snow peas, bell pepper, onion), which cooked during the stir-frying, and a homemade peanut sauce. The vegs. were perfectly crisp-tender! I did try it exactly as written; pleasant, but the vegs. needed something. The tofu cubes were very good - loved the peanuts & ginger! I started with less oil in pan because 1/2 cup oil is so much (for me); had to add close to that amount though, because the tofu absorbed almost all of that oil. I will make this again, but with some sauce to flavor the vegs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Liz
This is the best way to cook tofu. It's nice and crispy. I used fresh vegetables: pea pods and mushrooms. It was even better the second day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: kmama
This tofu stir-fry is delicious. My husband, a meat and potatoes man, even enjoyed it. My kids are not big meat eaters so this meal was perfect for them. The tofu is unoffensive to their taste buds. I used 5 different types of fresh vegetables. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches