My reviews (64)

Vietnamese beef pho

In this classic soup, paper-thin slices of beef are cooked with rice noodles in individual serving bowls into which hot beef stock, herbs and spices have been added. For a more authentic tasting pho - you will need to go to an Asian shop and buy pho stock cubes.
Reviews (64)


11 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: JESSLOV
I was trying to find a recipe to make pho that would be as good as the pho shops in Northern Virginia...this recipe brought me a little closer to that goal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Oct 2018
Reviewed by: Debra Schipper
Absolutely delicious and healthy, too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: Mermaid62
I spent part of my childhood in Bangkok, Thailand. This comes close to the soups that you could purchase from the street vendors! I used regular beef broth in this batch which I think lacked complexity, but was still pretty tasty. I’m about to try my hand at homemade bone broth, so I’ll give it another try once I can make it with that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Aimee Pragle
It was amazing! Me and my daughter enjoyed making it together. However, we made some minor changes, including adding Fish flakes. We also noticed that while they did include fish sauce in their ingredients, they didn't include it in their directions, also most pho places add cilantro to their pho, and that would've tasted good. But overall, I really enjoyed making this recipe and plan to make it many more times in the very near future.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2017
Reviewed by: GlutenfreeGurl
Needed more seasoning,.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: danee4tyler
Ok I love Pho. I love all the different tastes that dance in my mouth when eating eat. Most of all I love the broth and just the broth. This is a great broth to just heat up and drink. It's mild and sweet with a little bit of heat if you add a few drops of siracha to it when you heat it up. I also put the onion and spices in a spice bag. I also love that you can adjust the slices to meet your tastebuds. I love even more that this Pho takes no time at all and even tho it doesn't use beef bones it's still a great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: Dusty Evers
Tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: NanKay
I used Harvest brand Vietnamese PHO Beef Broth Mix. Eliminated the lemon grass and a few of the spices. My son-in-law who is vietnamese, said that it was very close to the kind he is used to. Appreciate the recipe as it gave me something to start with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Thea
just add star anise!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
Comment:
15 May 2010
YenNguyen239 said:
i love your recipe. It's my fav traditional dish. I LOVE Pho but I no longer have to labor for my love since I discovered this great company called Star Anise Foods that make these incredible Pho kits that's all natural and organic, and using a family recipe from Nam Dinh where Pho came from. You must try them! It takes 15 minutes and it comes out tasting wonderful every time I make it. They sell you a spice packet and a noodle packet, all you do is add fresh ingredients. I got mine off Amazon.com, just search for Happy Pho, but you can also get them in Northern California stores http://staranisefoods.com/find-us.aspx
 
(Review from Allrecipes SE Asia)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches