My reviews (11)

Proper scouse

This is a REAL scouse recipe from a REAL scouser. My recipe is based on my family's through my mum and her mum. Scouse is a stew from Liverpool (of which it's inhabitants get their name) and it originates from a similar Norwegian stew brought over by sailors. Every scouse family has a different recipe, some add turnip with the potatoes, some like it thick and stodgy (like mine), some like it thinner, some use beef instead of lamb, some use both, or some use just lamb (traditionally). I have seen some very odd recipes online - adding tomatoes (this is a HUGE NO-NO) or garlic or other unneeded ingredients like herbs etc. It may taste 'nicer' or more 'exciting' however the point of scouse is to be tasty, filling comfort food. I will show you how to make a classic stodgy version :) Scouse is a simple stew, cheap, cheerful and TASTY. (cooking times vary really, I'd say give it a bit longer than 2 hours; just as long as the meat is tender and the vegetables are mushy.
Reviews (11)


10 May 2013
Reviewed by: princess-leia
Exactly how my nan used to make! Perfect stodge!! And scouse butties have to be tried. It's even better on fresh tiger bread nom nom nom
 
12 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Mominatrix
Very tasty and simple to make. Had to cook it a little longer to make the meat tender enough but all in all, would make it again.
 
25 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: thedirtyburger
Just like my nan used to make too, tastes even better the next day. Confession time....sometimes I have pickled onions in my scouse. YUM.
 
25 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Wallaseygent
I tryed your recipe and I think it's one of the best one I tasted for a long time
 
28 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: donnelly11
A good recipe, and one which I would prefer, but it is not scouse. Scouse was what us poor folks ate. No carrots and no black pepper. You chuck a scrag end of mutton into the stewing pan. You peel all the potatoes you can fit in. Cut them in thin slices, as if you were doing Lancashire hot pot. Put them in the pan with the meat and leave it to boil or simmer, depending whether its on the gas (simmer to keep the cost down, or on the iron over the fire. Peel and chop the onions and throw them in. Check every now and then and add more water if it is getting low. When the potatoes have completely boiled to nothing, add salt and pepper to taste. The only permitted deviation is to add any leftover greens at a late stage. Incidentally if you want a thick ear, add curry powder before serving it to your dad, like I did. David Donnelly
 
04 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: ruledbymars
i dusted the meat in plain flour first then browned it with the onions at the same time - added the carrot, spuds and poured a kettle of boiling water on it, added blackpepper, salt plus a good dash of Worcestershire sauce. Was absolutely perfect - don't forget you can freeze this in bulk. Delicious
 
28 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Denzil
The best scouse is after a lamb shoulder roast . Cook your shoulder and keep every thing. bone ,fat, meat. Left overs . And keep all peelings from cabbage carrots potatoes sweed and any other vegetable . Put in big pot with 5 pints of water then boil and simmer for 4 hours . Skim fat off when boiling then remove bone . Strain juices through lint cloth . Then you have the stock . You can keep this or carry on making scouse ... I like to make it with 3 tins of stewed steak and 2 tins of corn beef . Then add Potatoes and carrots onion lots of black pepper but not too much salt if any , just to taste when served . Then sliced home made beet root . Enjoy
 
06 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: mikecresearch
Scouse Pie is a cracker , me mum used to call it scouse in jail she would use the left over scouse and slap a pastry lid on it, she would sometimes put dumpling's in ours with some pulse .
 
08 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: AngelaMussallam
Absolutely worth the wait, delicious!! We had the red cabbage and crusty bread with it
 
28 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: cozytoad
This is an excellent traditional Liverpool scouse. I was surprised that none of the recipes added pearl barley which is how I made it and how it was served in my family. Perhaps that was just my mum making it go further. Loved the simplicity of it and the peppery flavour.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches