My reviews (54)

Wild rice stuffing with apples, currants and bacon

Try this delightfully different stuffing is the perfect accompaniment to roast chicken, turkey or pork.
Reviews (54)


Comment:
07 Aug 2008
foodfanatic said:
Used different ingredients. With the wild rice, I used chicken stock plus some water. Added some sultanas as well.
 
Comment:
07 Aug 2008
mrsnorris said:
Used different ingredients. I added some roasted pecans in the second batch I made and they added a nice touch.
 
07 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: foodfanatic
Liked this a bunch. Went great with a roast pork fillet. I just made my wild rice separately as well as the white rice. This was very tasty served cold.
 
07 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: mrsnorris
One word... WOW!!!!!!!!! This is so good. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
 
24 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: kdmorgan77
It should read: "Cook 1 cup of wild rice in 1 1/2 cup of water AND 1 1/2 cup of broth, for a total of 3 cups of liquid". Other places online say that 1 cup of wild rice should be cooked in 3 cups of water, so that's how we tried it and it was great! BTW, we're vegetarian and left out the bacon all together and it was really great wrapped in Tofurky turkey lunch meats and baked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: GINNYG
Awesome recipe! I served this with 'Roast Chicken with Rosemary' from this site and it was wonderful. Would be great for a pot luck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Dianne
I love this stuffing! This is the second time I've made this and it turned out awesome. Make sure to use a large stock pot to cook the wild rice in, because you end up adding a lot more to the pot later on. For the herbs I used 1 Tbsp. rosemary, 2 Tbsp. basil, 1 Tbsp. oregano, 1 Tbsp. thyme, 1/2 Tbsp. marjoram and 1/2 tsp. ground sage. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper. The great thing is you can adjust the herbs according to your tastes. To cut costs, I only used raisins and craisins (skipping the apricots and cherries). It still turned out fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Leigharev
I purchased a long grain and wild rice combination and just cooked it up acocrding to the package directions. I used microwave bacon (I hate bacon grease) and set it aside. I sauteed the onion and celery, and added the fruit to the rice while the rice was still a little 'wet'. Added the celery and onion, the dry herb mix (basil, organo, thyme, sage) to the rice and fruit and cooked on med-low until everything was cooked through. Added the bacon and parley and mixed until warm. This is an incredible dish. DH and I plan on using this a a foundation form here on out and will play around with substituting the bacon for chicken sauage, and the fruits and herbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Bill Echols
One word... WOW!!!!!!!!! This is so good. I added some roasted pecans in the second batch I made and they added a nice touch. Thanks for sharing this outrageous recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: CYBERJYN
The instructions for the recipe are not written correctly, omitting the broth that is called for in the ingredients list. The uncooked long grain rice do not soften in the time instructed. I think this would be a great recipe if the long grain were pre-cooked and then mixed into the other ingredients. The flavor was good, the texture was crunchy. No one would eat it at Thanksgiving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches