Log in Join

My reviews (10)

Irish stew

Traditional recipes for Irish stew use a tough, fatty cut of lamb and only potatoes, onions and herbs. This up-to-date version with lamb leg steaks is leaner, and more colourful with the addition of carrots, but still retains its comforting, homely flavour.
Reviews (8)
Comments (2)


RATING POSTED
07 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Br47
 
16 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: wyattdogster
Very good, the cooking method left the lamb so tender! I suspected this would be a bit bland from the ingredients and reviews so I did use much more of the fresh herbs, almost a handful of each. I also added some crushed rosemary and garlic. Perfectly seasoned and delicious!
 
11 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: FlyingWizard
I went to 4 stores and none of them had *any* lamb! So, I cut my losses and got some nice, lean beef. While the flavors were simple, it was still a very good stew. It went great with some homemade bread and a Guinness! Next time I make this, I *will* find some nice lamb!
 
04 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: pelicangal
I really liked this. This is an old recipe when people were making do with what they had on hand. It is of course by nature going to be a little bland. If you want spicy you need to look up curry recipes.
 
04 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: traceyposner
This was just ok. We thought it was a bit bland and it was definitely lacking something. There wasn't anything about it that would make me want to make it again.
 
Comment:
03 Nov 2010
ziggyboo said:
Used different ingredients. I used Lambs Hearts ..cleaned and either sliced or cubed...
 
03 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: jammydodger
I found it too bland.....pretty sure I didn't leave anything out Will have to add more seasoning to it....
 
19 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: mrsblack2105
So easy to prepare and tasted gorgeous, went down an absolute treat with everybody!
 
Comment:
23 Nov 2009
MrsMillican said:
Something else. Cooked it in the slow cooker for 7hrs on low - the meat was so tender! Stirred in a spoonful of cornflour in the last 30 mins to thicken the sauce.
 
23 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: MrsMillican
So simple to prepare but absolutely gorgeous. I added plenty of seasoning and herbs and added pearl barley - the whole family loved it!
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches