My reviews (13)

Golden syrup sponge cake

A moist, surprisingly light sponge made with brown sugar and golden syrup. Made as a traybake, it's easy to ice and serve in squares.
Reviews (13)


26 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: jillc
So easy, husband and grand daughter love it, really can't go wrong with this one. I cook it in fan oven at 160c.
 
08 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: JanenaMayne
Great cake so easy to make
 
05 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: JennyThomas
Really lovely tasty syrup cake. Very quick and easy to make. I also added a teaspoon of baking powder. My boys all loved it. Will def be a regular pudding in our house!
 
05 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: SarahToto
really lovely cake! i did in a deep tin so it did take more like 40 mins in the oven on 160c but came out lovely
 
22 May 2017
Reviewed by: Janetmn57
I made 12 little buns, used half and half maple and golden syrup, and topped them with a lemon and maple icing. Moist and sweet enough even though I didn't put all the sugar specified in the recipe.
 
12 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: louboo
I too added 1tsp baking powder but also 3Tbsp of golden syrup rather 2. I made this in a bundt tin - came out lovely & moist, could definitely taste the syrup, which went delicious with custard ๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿ˜Š
 
27 May 2016
Reviewed by: RyanSaunders
Very nice cake, goes well with custard๐Ÿ˜‹
 
01 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: PinkFireflyWonder
I made this cake today based on these ingredients. After a couple of alterations it came out lovely (to my personal taste). The cake mix came out quite thick and I added 3 tablespoons of water. I also added thin layer of Golden Syrup on top of the cake as I couldn't actually taste it in the cake. I also used caster sugar as I don't use brown sugar. I baked it at 160ยฐ fan oven and it came out with a slight burnt top. I'll definitely make this cake again but at a lower heat for probably again 35-40 minutes at 150ยฐ.
 
10 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: JessicaLoozekoot
Sorry tried this.... But this is really dry and didn't taste the way I was hoping for.. Perhaps it's because in Holland we have other ways to bake cake.. I do not want to offend you, so I'm sorry, but this is so different the way we bake ร  cake in Holland.. ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™ˆ
 
01 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Hunnybee44
Amazing cake, so easy to make and tastes so good.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches