My reviews (132)

Soft cookies

These soft biscuits are great for kids birthday parties - they are easy to hold and nice and soft in the centre. Set up a range of coloured icing and bowls of sprinkles and let them decorate until their heart's content!
Reviews (132)


06 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: shelby74
Fantastic - easy to make and gorgeous and light taste !
 
11 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: BrennaLThom
Well I followed this recipe exactly and they somehow ended up as cakes Dont get me wrong they were really nice Just they ended up as cakes Not biscuits Probably why I'm not on the great british bake off
 
16 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: N ENGLE
I made this recipe for Christmas & everyone just loved the cookies. I also put a homemade frosting on top of them & they were even better... Mix about 1 1/2 sticks of soften butter & about 3 cups of powdered sugar until creamy. Add a 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of vanilla & stir in some milk, about 1-3 tbs until desired texture. The frosting should taste creamy not powdery. Happy baking!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: BEYONDNASCAR
AWFUL good! We also put a hershey kiss in the middle prior to baking! Those were good and even better when we unwrapped the Hershey Kiss first on the next batch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Debsdolls
This is a great recipe, it is easy and makes a lot of cookies. This is like a butter cookie but not as delicate. I made them for a party and they were a big hit. I will make them again, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
I was SO prepared to give these a lacklustre review. "Unadorned," they are flat tasting and not sweet enough. My suggestions were to be to add more vanilla, upped at least to a tsp., a little salt, maybe a 1/2 tsp., to make the flavors come alive, and maybe even a little more sugar. They are tender and soft, with the characteristic light texture I've come to know that the combination of powdered sugar, oil and cream of tartar provide. I was going to be generous and give them three stars - but as is I really didn't think they were even THAT good. But then I frosted them. What a difference a little sweetness made, especially creamy, buttery sweetness! In fact, I would say this cookie is not only better frosted, it is the *perfect* cookie to frost! For the same reasons I had ambivalent feelings about them before they were frosted, are why I loved this cookie frosted, tho' I still would add a litte salt. In addition to these being the perfect "utensil" for "Butter Icing for Cookies," also from this site, they are simply gorgeous as well. The dough is quite soft (almost greasy, actually) so I chilled it for an hour or so before shaping it into cookies. I used a medium cookie scoop and flattened them slightly before baking. Perfectly shaped when they went into the oven, they were perfectly shaped when they came out of the oven as well. With spring fever in full tow, after frosting I sprinkled them with pastel sugars. These are just awesome 5-star good - WITH the frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: ANNABWW
Great to do w/kids, very tender and yummy! -considering Dad we used only ¾ C on white sugar and 6 oz of veg. oil they turned out just perfect =-) Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Holly
Great cookie recipe! Reminds me of pecan sandies w/out the pecans. My mother stopped by & said these were the best cookies. She doesn't even care for cookies. I had to use butter flavored Crisco b/c I didn't have any butter. It still turned out great though! My mother & I will both be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: CDCRUS
These are fantastic! Buttery and not too sweet. Was a hit with the family - mostly the women. The men preferred the sweeter cookies I baked. Excellent addition for a 'holiday variety'. Keep the baking time to the bare minimum so as to keep them soft.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: MAMAJFROG
I thought these cookies were good and very quick to put together and cook. I decided to add a lime glaze over the top and they were terrific. I took them to work and everyone went crazy for them, even the men asked for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches