My reviews (93)

Overnight pancakes

Why fuss around in the morning when you can prepare everything the night before? When you've got pancakes on the table in mere minutes, you - and your family - will be thankful!
Reviews (93)


02 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: Leslie A.
This is the best pancake recipe I have ever tried! I think I have tried most of them on the internet in search of my mom and grandmother's recipes to no avail. My fiancé and I agreed that, at best, the other's were good, but nothing special. The oatmeal really adds something special to the recipe. We didn't have raisins so I omitted them and topped them with apples sautéed in a pat of butter and just a bit of cinnamon (which I have done with other pancakes). I halved the recipe and the two of us ate them all! YUM! Don't wait until Christmas to try these easy delicious pancakes! Will make again and again...they are definitely worth the wait! Thanks so much for sharing! (:
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: RUBY2
My family loves oatmeal pancakes and this is a great recipe. I use whole wheat flour and oil with good results. These are more fragile than ordinary pancakes so oil your pan well and be careful when handling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: PercyPea
This was delicious! I only let the oatmeal sit an hour, had no baking powder so I doubled the baking soda, and it was still yummy! I'm sure it's even better following the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2005
Reviewed by: DESSERT LOVER
My husband and I both loved these great pancakes! They tasted incredible and were perfect even without syrup. We made them on the weekend and froze the leftovers in between waxed paper to heat up in the toaster oven on busy weekday mornings. This will be one of our "tried and true" breakfast treats. J & L
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: Cindy Carnes
MMMMM!!!! Good, I don't know how you could improve these, just a little more cinnamon is the only thing I did, yummy! Melt the butter before you add it, the recipe is supposed to say that, but it doesn't.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Bassi Gruen
These were excellent, tasty pancakes. A bit heavy, but very filling. I used 2 T. vinegar with 2 c. of milk instead of buttermilk. Flatten them with a spatula when you put them in the frying pan or the center will be gooey.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: K5
I love making pancakes with "stuff" in 'em. These were so yummy that the next day we ate them plain. They taste like muffins. I doubled the batch, because when I make pancakes, I really make pancakes. I used half buttermilk and half milk, increased the cinnamon to 1 tablespoon and the sugar to 5 tablespoons for the double batch (based on recommendations from other reviewers), used canola oil instead of butter, and added an extra slosh of milk to thin out the batter a bit after it had sat all night. Also, I didn't just soak the milk and the oatmeal overnight, I made up the entire recipe and put the the whole thing in the refrigerator. It made the morning easier and also allowed not only the oatmeal to absorb the liquid and flavors, but also the raisins. I topped the pancakes with a little bit of agave sweetener. Others in the family used syrup or yogurt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: CURIALL
These are wonderful! The texture is so good -- they're somehow poofy, even though they are incredibly healthy. (At least, compared to other pancakes...) They're perfect for my one-year-old son, too. We've had these two weekends in a row, both times skipping the raisins and adding different fruit (mixed berries, then banana slices + blueberries) to the batter on the skillet. PERFECT. Thanks for the great recipe. UPDATE: I've made these almost every weekend for the last 7 months. This recipe is a treasure. I call them "magic pancakes," because a bunch of healthy ingredients magically turns into the most delicious pancakes we've tried! I use either white-wheat flour or bread flour in place of the all-purpose, and it's terrific. I also use ginger in place of cinnamon - with chopped bananas, surprisingly delicious. Pancakes were a tradition for my husband when he was growing up, and I'm so glad to have a way to keep that tradition alive in our family without giving my toddler food I don't feel good about. Seriously, if you use wheat flour, this isn't all that different from oatmeal with a pinch of sugar. Yet, somehow, it tastes a million times better and more special. What an ideal weekend treat. Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: mommaof4
I made it more fat-friendly and substituted apple butter for the oil- subbed real maple syrup for added sugar, also had no baking powder or baking salt on hand and it came out fine! Great served with sliced bananas and real maple syrup on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: LES935
For those that love pancakes, this is a great recipe. I tried them recently, and have prepared them several times since there. I adjusted the recipe to my family's taste by doubling the amount of cinnamon and raisins in the original recipe. It's also a great way to get children to eat oatmeal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches