My reviews (26)

Vegan chocolate fudge cake

This is a delicious, light fluffy chocolate cake without a hint of animal produce! Great to make with kids, this is a pretty foolproof recipe. Challenge your guests to guess what's missing! This is a recipe I originally submitted to Oxfam and was published on their now defunct Cool Planet site about 10 years ago.
Reviews (26)


16 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: TeresaHallam
I made this recipe yesterday for my daughter who is vegan. It was so easy to make and was huge... We all tried it and it was delicious, as good and if not better than a regular chocolate cake
 
03 Jan 2015
Easy to make and extremely good, wouldn't know it's vegan, used lemon juice instead of the white wine vinegar...
 
09 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: StefaniLou
This is one amazing cake! I made this for my sisters wedding as there was a handful of vegan guests. It quickly became known as 'the little chocolate cake'. It was even demolished before the actual wedding cake. I'm going to make it again for a birthday at work but not tell anyone it's totally vegan. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!
 
23 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: barneym427
This was a great cake, I made it for my nephews first birthday as he is allergic to eggs and dairy. It rises beautifully and tastes really choclatety. I didn`t have white wine vinegar, so used cider vinegar which seemed ok. I made two batches as it was a big cake, but left the second lot in the tins till cold, as the first lot tended to crack while they were still warm. The olive oil makes it so moist that even after keeping it a few days it doesn't dry up.
 
26 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: missydd
Followed the recipe exactly but disappointed that the cakes cracked when removed from the tins, best to leave to completely cool before removal. Also - the icing did not thicken up sufficiently to spread so consequently whilst it was oozing down through the cracks in the cake it looked like an erupting volcano with lava dripping down the side, I was hoping it would hold it all together! Wish I knew what I'd done wrong, mad ethos for my daughter's birthday but it's a bit of a mess, tastes nice though!
 
09 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: KellyWestlake
An absolute triumph! Bear in mind the quantity makes a large (impressive-looking) double-layered cake, so it could well be halved to be a single layer. EVERYone loves this cake unreservedly, so let's give the animals a break and go vegan with it! Huge thumbs up & gratitude for sharing! Give it a go - you won't regret it!
 
16 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: amymcewen121
Made this for my daughter's birthday as she can't have dairy and she'd asked for a chocolate cake. It was the most beautiful chocolate cake I've ever had and my daughter thought it was wonderful! Went down a treat with the rest of the family too! Just had to leave it in the oven for an extra 10 minutes but it came out perfect.
 
22 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: StephanieDavies
Amazing cake used coconut milk instead of water
 
19 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: clareby88
I do a lot of baking and was excited to try this after reading the reviews. I was asked to make a vegan chocolate cake so tried two recipes to give me a choice. The method was fine and the batter looked very promising. And when the cake came out of the oven it had risen beautifully and looked amazing! I decided to set my timer for ten minutes, so that I turned the cake out of the tin at the right time-I have been known to forget! I did so and it looked lovely. However, five minutes later I looked again and it hadn’t just cracked-it had fallen apart, into four pieces-disaster! So I would recommend trying this out in advance of the big day-I’m so glad that I did so! It did taste nice so it was collapsed further, into crumbs, to make cake pops 😃. Incidentally, the other recipe I tried, containing dairy free margarine, and almond milk, was perfect.
 
02 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Laubing9
This recipe is amazing - my family and friends can't believe that it's vegan! It was loved so much that I had to make it for 3 different people over Christmas lol. For my daughters birthday I replaced the fudge icing with vegan chocolate butter icing (made with soya margarine) which also compliments it well. This cake really is delicious 😊
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches