My reviews (21)

Vegan chocolate fudge cake

This is a delicious, light fluffy chocolate cake without a hint of animal produce! Great to make with kids, this is a pretty foolproof recipe. Challenge your guests to guess what's missing! This is a recipe I originally submitted to Oxfam and was published on their now defunct Cool Planet site about 10 years ago.
Reviews (21)


16 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: TeresaHallam
I made this recipe yesterday for my daughter who is vegan. It was so easy to make and was huge... We all tried it and it was delicious, as good and if not better than a regular chocolate cake
 
03 Jan 2015
Easy to make and extremely good, wouldn't know it's vegan, used lemon juice instead of the white wine vinegar...
 
09 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: StefaniLou
This is one amazing cake! I made this for my sisters wedding as there was a handful of vegan guests. It quickly became known as 'the little chocolate cake'. It was even demolished before the actual wedding cake. I'm going to make it again for a birthday at work but not tell anyone it's totally vegan. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!
 
23 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: barneym427
This was a great cake, I made it for my nephews first birthday as he is allergic to eggs and dairy. It rises beautifully and tastes really choclatety. I didn`t have white wine vinegar, so used cider vinegar which seemed ok. I made two batches as it was a big cake, but left the second lot in the tins till cold, as the first lot tended to crack while they were still warm. The olive oil makes it so moist that even after keeping it a few days it doesn't dry up.
 
26 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: missydd
Followed the recipe exactly but disappointed that the cakes cracked when removed from the tins, best to leave to completely cool before removal. Also - the icing did not thicken up sufficiently to spread so consequently whilst it was oozing down through the cracks in the cake it looked like an erupting volcano with lava dripping down the side, I was hoping it would hold it all together! Wish I knew what I'd done wrong, mad ethos for my daughter's birthday but it's a bit of a mess, tastes nice though!
 
09 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: KellyWestlake
An absolute triumph! Bear in mind the quantity makes a large (impressive-looking) double-layered cake, so it could well be halved to be a single layer. EVERYone loves this cake unreservedly, so let's give the animals a break and go vegan with it! Huge thumbs up & gratitude for sharing! Give it a go - you won't regret it!
 
16 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: amymcewen121
Made this for my daughter's birthday as she can't have dairy and she'd asked for a chocolate cake. It was the most beautiful chocolate cake I've ever had and my daughter thought it was wonderful! Went down a treat with the rest of the family too! Just had to leave it in the oven for an extra 10 minutes but it came out perfect.
 
20 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: AshleyHowe
I made this for my mums birthday and wow, no cake I've ever made has turned out this well and it was so easy! It's so fudgy and chocolately, everyone loved it and couldn't believe it was vegan. For the icing I changed it up and made vegan Oreo icing, will definitely be making this again!
 
05 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: EmilieCollins
Awful, completely cracked into 3 chunks as soon as i removed the tin.
 
14 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: BarbaraCartwright
Made this for my grandson's 11th birthday party as there was a vegan friend coming. Didn't tell any of the other boys that it was "vegan" as 10 & 11 year olds can be fussy. Need not have worried. It went down a bomb! All asked for more. It is a very generous size and there was plenty for everyone. Will definitely be making it again for all of us.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches