My reviews (70)

Slow cooker creamy chicken and coconut curry

Chunks of chicken are slow-cooked in a creamy coconut curry with potatoes and red pepper. It's delicious garnished with raisins and a sprinkling of desiccated coconut.
Reviews (70)


26 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: CiaraMiller
Same as below, this recipe was very bland and watery, unfortunately I wouldn't make again
 
20 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: ChrisBoony
Bland, too watery - lacking in any curry taste. Followed this recipie to the letter - almost. I added more cornflour in the attempt to thicken. Also added additional curry paste to try and increase the flavour. Both without success. Pretty upset
 
08 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Maralina
I could only give this three stars because as written, it is pretty bland, soupy and tasteless. However, the hubby and I both love curry so I experimented and came up with what I believe is a 5-star dish. I used two cans of 13.5oz coconut milk, about 1/2 cup of chicken broth, about 1 cup matchstick carrots, diced yellow potatoes, 3 yellow onions diced, about 1 tblsp freshly ground black pepper, 1/4 cup plus 2 tblsp curry, 1 tblsp of chopped garlic and sea salt to taste. I did not dice the chicken breasts since the slow cooker makes the chicken so tender. The last hour I added the red bell pepper, about a 1 and half cups of sweetened flake coconut and the cornstarch which probably wasn't needed but did thicken it a bit more. I then served it over white rice made with milk, water and butter. These changes made this an awesome dish though probably not very low calorie. However, the flavor was perfect and reminded me of a good vegetarian Vietnamese dish (basically veggies in a coconut broth). I know I could have made this without the crock pot but am always looking for slow cook recipes to help with busy schedules. Cook on Sunday, eat leftovers most of the week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2012
Reviewed by: Bernice Gardner
I made this today exactly as it said in the recipe, we loved it. Thanks mikeyv, will defiantly make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 May 2012
Reviewed by: lori
i substitued shrimp (added when peppers were added) and used vegetable broth. it was a huge success!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Shannon Kimmich Kenny
Best slow cooker recipe I have ever found! Usually I hate using slow cookers because they never come out the same as if I cooked it traditionally. I made this exactly to the recipe and served it over jasmine rice. My whole family loved it, including my kids ages 6 and 8. This one is definitely a keeper and will come in handy for those busy afternoons!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Lilly'sCookin!
I made this recipe as written, with the exception of adding more bell peppers. Maybe I am just accustomed to spicy food, but I found this dish to be extremely bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 May 2012
Reviewed by: Stephanie
Wonderful! I served this with some rice and it was so flavorful and satisfying. My husband loved it, he was a little miffed that I took some leftover for lunch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Heather G
This was a good base curry recipe if you are starting to try curries. Loved the fact that it was made in the crockpot. We will make this again, but add more kick to it next time. Even the kids that do not like heat said that it was just bland. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bland as in no flavor, it just needs a boost.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: MLKENNEDY67
Great recipe for someone learning how to make a delish curry. I've always had to go out for something like this since my family isn't too big on "exotic" food. My 10 and 12 year old daughters and hubby LOVED it, even our 12 year old neighbor who stayed for dinner. The only thing I changed was to use a can of chicken broth rather than 1 cup, this way I had a lot more of the yummy gravy to enjoy with my naan. Will definitely make this again, especially the next covered dish night I host.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches