My reviews (2,341)

Basic crepes

Here is a simple but delicious crepe batter which can be made in minutes. It's made from ingredients that I'm sure everyone has in their kitchen cupboards.
Reviews (2341)


30 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: M.21
I am going to try the recipe but should I sift the flour or not.
 
14 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Butterpancakes111
Intried this once and it made amzing pancakes but the batter was really lumpy but i couldnt be bothered sifting the flour. I made it this time but it wasnt lumpy. This is what i did. Add the flour not sifted (who can be bothered). Then i added one egg whisked it and added the other one. Add in half of the milk then whisk it then add the other half. Each time you whisk it make sure its combined. Then whilst whisking it fast i kept adding the water slowly until it was all added. I melted the butter and added the salt to the salt. I added a tablespoon then whisked it then added the rest. I kept whisking for a good two minutes without stopping and it wasnt lumpy. I also addded three tablespoons of granulated sugar at the end to make it a bit sweeter. I kept it in the fridge overnight as i needed it the next day and it tasted fabulous.
 
01 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Morley
Great recipe, with ONE exception: I initially followed the directions to whisk the flour/eggs then add the wet ingredients, but this left me with VERY lumpy unusable batter. Doing the reverse - mixing the eggs & wet stuff then sifting in the flour - worked way better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Christine Anderson
BRILLIANT BASIC CREPES. This is a scrumptious recipe for thin, delicious German style pancakes. I'm a professional musician and recording artist, and I often find myself in the kitchens of recording studios, trying to make something edible from the staple ingredients studios keep in their kitchens. Well, this recipe is it!!! Everyone has milk, eggs, salt, butter, and flour in their kitchen, and these babies whip up like a charm! Even the batter will keep in the fridge for a few days. Personally, I like to throw in about a third cup of granulated sugar and a quarter cup of powdered sugar to make them sweet and a little crispy around the edges. Just be sure to put a fresh dab of butter in the pan before pouring the batter each time. I've tried countless pancake/crepe recipes, and nothing really impressed me until this one. I recommend it most enthusiastically! Christine Anderson
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: TRISTIA
MMM! best crepe recipe ever! one of my favorite breakfast recipes! I often make an apple cinnamon mixture (fry together 1 tbsp butter, 1 apple chopped fine, a pinch of each cinnamon and nutmeg, and 1 tbsp powdered sugar, until apple pieces are soft.) and roll it inside the crepes! Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: ilstu99
I had a hard time wrapping my brain around the flour + eggs, then other ingredients....so I just did what I always do....wet stuff blended, then dry stuff added to it. They have turned out great every time I have made them. A touch of sugar and vanilla makes great sweet crepes...some pepper and herbs make great veggie crepes. BOTH are great for breakfast! I almost always double or triple this recipe, and it keeps well in the fridge.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 May 2003
Reviewed by: LUXEMBOURGAHOY
super recipe! I live in Europe and got tired of buying the already prepared just add water mixes so I tried this one out! REALLY REALLY easy! I find a good trick if using a non stick pan is to shake it back and forth with the handle now and then- when the crepe begins to slip back and forth it is done on the primary side so you flip and really quickly do the other side or it gets rubbery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: CTREYNARD
Wonderful! Two modifications: 1 t vanilla, and more water until the batter was "crepe" consistency.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: AMBER_RICKER
I used this recipe for my french class for our Christmas party. I added to it thawed strawberries--whole and sliced, melted semi-sweet chocolate (and some unmelted on top!!), and a frosting consisting of powdered sugar, cream cheese, milk, and vanilla extract. It was such a hit, there were no complaints and the other teachers who got in on our festivities enjoyed them as well!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: BABYGIRL30S
Someone tell me what I did wrong please! I prepared the batter from the previous suggestions and it came out beautifully, no lumps, but when I put it in the well-oiled pan, it just turned into scrambled eggs! I had to throw it out! It can't be the recipe because all of these reviews, so maybe it was the pan, the spatula.......I don't know! Help! (SMILE)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches